PDA

View Full Version : Rendering layers



Philbert
09-30-2007, 09:44 AM
I'm sure I remember a way to do this in Lightwave...

Imagine this. In your scene you have some ground, park, backyard, whatever, and a tree. You can see where the tree goes into the ground. In post you'd like a live action character to walk behind the tree. Is there a way to render the tree on a separate layer without it's roots showing? I was also sure there was a way to render out both layers with one press of F9. Am I crazy?

Philbert
09-30-2007, 02:47 PM
Thanks, that handles hiding the roots, still looks like it has to be rendered in multiple passes (F9s) though. Oh well. See really I was trying to find a way to do it in Vue and was trying to explain how it could be done in LW on the Vue forum.

Philbert
09-30-2007, 08:01 PM
Oh okay thanks, I don't know why I was thinking you could hit F10 and it would render PSD files or something with objects on seperate layers. Weird.