PDA

View Full Version : Dielectric Black Areas

Quantenschaum
09-25-2007, 05:32 PM
hi guys.
this is actually my 1st post here although i keep wavin' since a looong time.

since i'm going to do a job soon involving gold jewellery and different gemstones, it was only recently that i really fiddled
around with the dielectric node. the forum here seems full of questions about the proper settings and believe me, i studied them a lot.

so here's my suspicion:
1: it's definetly BUGGY or missing something like higher Ray Recursion Limit.
2: i'm totally missing something and should wear a clown costume for life.

here's my setup:

Render Globals: Ray Recursion Limit = 24 (it's the max!), Ray Trace >Shad >Trans >Reflect >Refract = ON
Object: SubD with 1 surface. Surface: Double Sided with classic "Switch setup" consisting of the Dielectric (glass),
Standard (air), Spot Info (poly side) and Switch node. the glass material uses IOR = 1.5, Absorb = 0, Rough = 0
for faster rendering i did not use Reflection/Refraction Blurring or Dispersion.

http://www.sheep.ch/dump/FistGrey.jpg http://www.sheep.ch/dump/FistEnv.jpg

for the 1st image i used a plain 128 grey BG color, so that we won't see any distracting reflection or refraction patterns.
sounds weird but what i really want to show are those damn black areas! they just make no sense! it doesn't matter
what background , what IOR i used... they're here to stay! :compbeati

so... anybody with nothing better to do, download my little setup and try for yourself. 50743
any help welcome but please read my settings carefully, so you can avoid the obvious basic questions... :tongue:

jameswillmott
09-25-2007, 06:04 PM
Are you using 9.3?

Turn double sided off and just plug the Dielectric into the Material input.

9.2?

You'll have to set up air polygons or an air surface switch arrangement in nodal to switch the backsides of your polygons to an Air material. This arrangement probably won't work correctly with 9.3 though.

Quantenschaum