PDA

View Full Version : I swing both ways

Signal to Noise
09-24-2007, 12:38 PM
No, not in THAT way! ;)

Okay, I've been using Windows LW 32-bit for many years. I just built a 64-bit system and realize I'll need to request a new LW license key for the 64-bit o/s.

I also plan to buy a MacBook Pro laptop in the next couple of months. I wish to install LW on the Mac as well. I notice I can download the Mac version from my registered user downloads page. But what do I need to do as far as the dongle and license key go?

Any one a 'single' license of LW on both platforms?

Lightwolf
09-24-2007, 12:56 PM
Any one a 'single' license of LW on both platforms?
Yup. The dongle ID is usually different, but you can use the same license on all platform.

Now go and swing some more ;)

Cheers,
Mike

Signal to Noise
09-24-2007, 12:57 PM
Awesome news! Thanks for replying so quick, Mike. :)

[edit] But if the dongle ID on the Mac is different than the one in Windows then wouldn't that mean I have to submit a new license key request?

Dodgy
09-24-2007, 01:03 PM
Out of interest, does LW come back with a different dongle id for 64 bit from 32 bit?

Lightwolf
09-24-2007, 01:48 PM
[edit] But if the dongle ID on the Mac is different than the one in Windows then wouldn't that mean I have to submit a new license key request?
Yup, but that's no problem, just like getting a new 64bit key (which is different as well).

@dodgy: the Win64 Id is usually the same as the one for Win32 - I think it may be different for a small batch of older dongles, but I haven't seen it happen yet.
Edit: the Id is the same, but the activation key is different.

Cheers,
Mike

Glendalough
09-24-2007, 01:48 PM
Awesome news! Thanks for replying so quick, Mike. :)

This is true, but it only takes about 30 seconds, your serial no. is the same for both just the dongle id is different.

Lightwolf: Think the 32 and 64 have seperate ids.

Lightwolf
09-24-2007, 01:53 PM
Lightwolf: Think the 32 and 64 have seperate ids.