PDA

View Full Version : shadows don't work in movie render.



jnddepew
09-20-2007, 04:14 PM
I'm having a problem with this scene where I have these objects flying around in the sky and they cast fleeting shadows on the scene that's being shown. when I do a single frame render, I can see them, but when i render the whole movie they aren't there. at first i thought it might be because of the compression, but i turned it to full frames (uncompressed) and they still don't show in the movie. doles anyone know why this is?

toby
09-22-2007, 03:46 PM
Motion blur?

jnddepew
09-22-2007, 04:00 PM
i really don't think it's the motion blur, because they do work in just single frames when i render them. the single frames do have the motion blur.

toby
09-22-2007, 05:37 PM
Are you using shadow maps? How about the cache shadow maps option?

jnddepew
09-22-2007, 07:46 PM
hmm. this is weird, i did a movie render and i now realize that the creatures don't have shadows either, although the buildings do. I'll attach a movie so you can see what I mean.

http://i170.photobucket.com/albums/u245/jnddepew/th_theyrunout3w.jpg (http://s170.photobucket.com/albums/u245/jnddepew/?action=view&current=theyrunout3w.flv)

JamesCurtis
09-22-2007, 09:38 PM
This may sound obvious, but if this was done in 9.2 or 9.3, did you make sure the settings were enabled properly in both Camera AND Global Render panels?

jnddepew
09-23-2007, 07:57 AM
unfortunately, i'm still working in lightwave 8.

toby
09-23-2007, 11:32 AM
You must have cast shadow and self shadow turned off in the objects' properties. And they do look like shadow maps, make sure the cache is off.