PDA

View Full Version : headus uvlayout

borkus
09-15-2007, 08:16 PM
came across this app on the silo forums. uvlayout (http://www.uvlayout.com/index.php?option=com_frontpage&Itemid=1) . it seems pretty easy to use. but i have no experience in uv's. but by watching the videos on the site, it doesn't seem as intimidating. but, it ain't cheap either. $390 us. so was wondering from those that edit uv's everyday, is this worth the money? does anyone use this app? it is highly talked of, but what is the equivalent within lightwave? is it just as easy to do within lightwave? like i said, i have never messed with uv's and wouldn't know where to begin. just looking at additional tools and you guy's opinions on such tools. thanks for any input. on a side note, it does use a dongle. but then again, who here would really have a problem with that...

SplineGod
09-16-2007, 06:23 AM
Heres a real nice free UV unwrapper.
http://www.pullin-shapes.co.uk/page8.htm

IMI
09-16-2007, 06:58 AM
Heres a real nice free UV unwrapper.
http://www.pullin-shapes.co.uk/page8.htm

It shows a screenshot of the standalone version, implying there is one, but those downloads are all plugins, for maya, Max and XSI. Is the standalone in there somewhere?

Agreed about the PLG UV tools. I spend alot of time unwrapping objects and all those, particularly Make_UV_Edit, are worth their weight in gold. Well, wait, I guess they don't actually weigh anything. ;)
Still, I'd have gladly paid for UV tools that good. Free is good too. :)

SplineGod
09-16-2007, 07:25 AM
The zip file is the free standalone version. Its the same UV tools that are built into blender.

IMI
09-16-2007, 07:38 AM
Oh, I see. It's just confusing the way they have it labeled. Thanks, will give it a try. :)

IMI
09-16-2007, 12:25 PM
As mentioned, PLG is the way to go for unwrapping in LightWave.

http://homepage2.nifty.com/nif-hp/index2_english.htm