PDA

View Full Version : Clay studies- its importance.

bluerider
09-13-2007, 07:19 AM
Here is a rescent approach I found useful for an area of curriculum development I am going through at the moment. I am studying character design and the most complex area is the face. The very most complex part of the head are the ears.

I decided to model them in clay first before I built them in Polygons.

Pheidian
09-14-2007, 06:53 AM
Can we see the wires! :lol:

bluerider
09-14-2007, 08:20 AM
Look, with the wire shot I even provided motion blur :D

gerry_g
09-15-2007, 03:06 AM
Needs more anisotropy on the metal to really cut it........ clay still beats 3D modeling for tactile feed back and simple ease of use but I hated it at collage, couldn't work and pick my nose at the same time

bluerider
09-15-2007, 11:02 PM
gerry_g,
I figured if I made a clay nose to pick, plus my own, thats four digits for a nostril each.

anisotropy,
OK I goggled searched the word and it was about complex stuff. Your joke was right over my........nose :D

Pheidian
09-17-2007, 01:36 AM
Your work flow is amazing, having motion blur in the production phase, awesome! :)

Heheh, have you finished the clay figure yet?

bluerider
09-17-2007, 06:38 AM
ZBrush 3.1 > Clay

Thats sounds awesome :) :jam:

bluerider
09-17-2007, 06:51 AM
Your work flow is amazing, having motion blur in the production phase, awesome! :)

Heheh, have you finished the clay figure yet?

Lol..........thankyou. As for the whole figure, thats a good question. I'm not at that stage yet for the work I am doing.

Heres older clay projects I developed from the wire to the finished piece.

Surrealist.
09-17-2007, 05:16 PM
Funny, I'd be a far better clay sculptor now than I ever was before, having done modeling in 3D.

I do remember way back when I was first trying to get a grip on 3D modeling characters (1994) that I was going to try sculpting and entering the data with one of those scribes: