PDA

View Full Version : I know I am going to get flamed for this...



AdamAvenali
09-12-2007, 07:46 AM
Hey all,

Well, I recently got a job offer for architectural pre-viz at a studio. I have been a tried and true lightwave user for a while now, but the studio uses maya (which sucks because i absolutely love LWcad). I figured I would come here with my question because everyone has helped me so much before. I guess I am looking for some tutorials or advice on learning maya quickly, I am just having a hard time finding any tutorials specialized toward this particular region of 3D. I have found many character tutorials, but nothing that has to do with concrete objects that require to be measured and accurate. Well, if anyone can lead me in the right direction, or has first-hand experience themselves, I will greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
Adam

cresshead
09-12-2007, 08:02 AM
a short answer would be to make them in lightwave and import the model into maya..

another avenue to look at is www.cgarchitect.com on their forums and tutorials specifically the maya and lightwave ones.

it's a bit odd they chose maya....3dsmax and viz are the main apps for arch viz thesedays.

http://www.cgarchitect.com/vb/11287-architectural-modeling-tutorial-maya-2.html

Nicolas Jordan
09-12-2007, 08:07 AM
Why they would be using Maya is beyond me. Usually arch viz studios use 3DS Max, Sketchup, Lightwave or some CAD related program. A couple good things about Maya is that it has decent native snapping tools and a good layers system. I used Maya for 1 year back in 2001 and never used it since. I don't think I have ever seen a Maya tutorial related to arch viz modeling. Hopefully someone here knows where to find some useful tutorials for you. Good Luck! :)

cresshead
09-12-2007, 08:25 AM
arch viz modeling and rendering training vids

www.digitaltutors.com

http://www.digitaltutors.com/store/images/t_2783.jpg

http://www.digitaltutors.com/store/images/t_2691.jpg

http://www.digitaltutors.com/store/images/t_2787.jpg

http://www.digitaltutors.com/store/images/t_2622.jpg


gnomonworkshop

digital sets:-
http://www.thegnomonworkshop.com/img/dvd_covers/eha01_cover.jpg

http://www.thegnomonworkshop.com/img/screengrabs/eha01/eha01coversm.jpg

also maya5 fundamentals has 6.5 hours of video tuition that mimics the book's content including creating an architectual interior [cinema foyer]

http://ec1.images-amazon.com/images/I/511VwnyqNgL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-dp-500-arrow,TopRight,45,-64_OU02_AA240_SH20_.jpg

last of all www.3dbuzz.com has a fantastic fundamentals video set..i have the maya ad the max one's they're gold!...fantastic training.


can't see any flames as yet!

sammael
09-12-2007, 08:28 AM
Since I cant help with this ill just FLAME you instead... haha.
LW files do seem to convert well to obj's though although the relative scale always seems messed up.

SplineGod
09-12-2007, 09:35 AM
Have you asked them if you can model with LW? It really doesnt matter what you model with as long as you can deliver assets in the format they need. Its probably more cost effective to let you use LW then try and get you up to speed in Maya.

SP00
09-12-2007, 09:43 AM
I agree, ask them to get your LW and LWCAD so you can work now instead of 2 weeks later at a slower pace. All models can export to Maya without a problem, just make sure you don't need to texture it.

AdamAvenali
09-12-2007, 11:57 AM
i really wish they were willing to switch programs, but apparently they have been doing this for a few years and are set in their ways, though i will try and talk with them about it. i will be working at their studio, so i guess i have to use whatever they give me haha.

thanks to everyone for the links and books and such! well, guess i better get to learning haha. actually, so far, after i have found what maya calls the comparable tools in lightwave, it's not that bad. just need to get to know the tool set.

thanks again!

adam

SplineGod
09-12-2007, 12:15 PM
I dont think its a matter of switching apps. Its a matter of getting them what they want in the format they want regardless of the source. :)

AdamAvenali
09-12-2007, 01:36 PM
i am just not sure that starting a new job, i should be asking for people to be buying me software and stuff haha

Lewis
09-12-2007, 01:46 PM
You always can pick up your DONGLE and work at their studio with your copy of LW - no need for them to switch anywhere (unless they are afraid that they will need to switch when you show them how faster you can be in LWCAD ;)).

IMI
09-12-2007, 02:20 PM
I see no reason to flame. Now if you were saying, Ha! Good riddance, suckers, I'm off to the big time! that might be a differnt story. ;)
I don't envy you one bit - I tried the PLE and...(hangs head in shame)... well, I hear it can be learned...

Good luck with the new gig. :)

GraphXs
09-12-2007, 10:33 PM
Ya, bring your copy in, Thats what I do. I've been using FBX plugin to get my assets in Max. Even with textures. (mainly image maps) LW models to other packages work great, and I get to show off F-Prime when I do texture work. That makes there Jaws drop!:thumbsup: :lwicon:

AbnRanger
09-13-2007, 05:39 AM
[QUOTE=nj3Design]Why they would be using Maya is beyond me. Usually arch viz studios use 3DS Max, Sketchup, Lightwave or some CAD related program. /QUOTE]Because some Dodo told them Maya was the shiz'it :D ... and they threw down the cash without doing any research of their own, most likely.

Not taking anything away from Maya, but Max has numerous features that SPECIFICALLY cater to the Arch. Pre-Viz market (such as Architectual Primitives with loads of precise controls...saving loads of time by preventing you from having to model them from scratch). Same goes with LW CAD.

Show them what LW CAD can do, and see if they don't choose to add it to the pipeline, instead of forcing you to switch completely over to Maya.

SP00
09-13-2007, 05:46 AM
Yeah, don't ask them to buy you a copy yet, just ask them if you could bring in your copy of LW and LWCAD. After they see just how good it is, they will want to buy you your own office copy.

AbnRanger
09-13-2007, 05:55 AM
Oh....by the way, make sure to tell them "while I'm getting acquainted with Maya...check this out."

If you come across as trying to sell them on LW so you don't have to use Maya, that will leave a bad impression on them. As long as you are fulfilling their requirement to get up to speed in their chosen software (Maya), they can't blame you for showing off your LW skills...and may decide later to keep you in LW predominantly.

nukemodular
09-13-2007, 06:11 AM
so why donīt you just bring your license and work with your copy of lw?...and your fav. plugs...thats what iīm always doing as freelancer...iīm always using my own tools...

nukemodular
09-13-2007, 06:12 AM
oops someone was faster...didnīt see that... ;)

SP00
09-13-2007, 06:26 AM
yeah, that is a good point, make sure that you present LW as a temp tool while you get up to speed in Maya.

AdamAvenali
09-13-2007, 06:51 AM
you know, this is the greatest community of all time. i really value everyone's input and all these ideas sound great. i will let everyone know how things unfold :thumbsup: