PDA

View Full Version : Rendering one frame for a high rez print?

Algae998
09-08-2007, 01:30 PM
Hey all,

I just finished the final touches on my model (new to LW) and I want to have a high resolution picture that I can have made into a print/poster. My question is..how do I do this with a better setting than 640x480??
I went into Render Globals and set the output quality to 1024x768 but I dont get the quality I need. Im probably only adjusting the video output but Im not sure how to affect the Render Frame.
Also, is the Render Frame (F9) option pretty much only for render tests? Or can you actually render that frame as a .jpeg in a high rez?

Ive seen a lot of high rez model pictures people have posted all over but cant seem to figure it out. Sorry for my lack of knowledge in LW, Im still learning :D

3dpete
09-08-2007, 01:38 PM
go into your camera properties and set your resolution there.

Algae998
09-08-2007, 02:40 PM
Awesome. I just tested (F9) and saved as a JPEG. The detail is very nice, but the edges are still extremely pixely. Is there an edge smoothing option? I tried enabling the smoothing checkbox for the model's surface editor, but it really only smoothed out the model's surface.

I would have thought that a 1024x768 render would be a lot larger than 195k :)

Thanks for the reply!

Algae998
09-08-2007, 02:47 PM
Hahaha, nevermind, I figured it out :D . I took another look at the camera's property setting and increased the multiplier percentage to 200%. Love it!

pva
09-08-2007, 06:32 PM
In the camera properties you have an option called Anti Aliasing, set it to 5 or 7 and see what happens :)

Algae998
09-08-2007, 10:32 PM
Yup, thats what I was looking for alright. The 800x600 with AA of 5 turned out better than a 1024x768 without AA. For zooming in it looks great! Thanks for the heads up! Now Ill definitely have to order some prints of my model. Only down side is the render time..but its worth it.

extrabyte
09-09-2007, 08:50 AM