PDA

View Full Version : 9.3UB 'can't find dongle' FIX!!!



JohnKocon
09-05-2007, 09:02 PM
I posted earlier to report that although 9.3CFM recognized my dongle, 9.3UB could not- I found the problem and solution- apparently the Eve3 framework packaged with 9.3UB is INCOMPATIBLE with my Eve3 dongle- But the fix is VERY easy-

Right Click on Layout app icon, select 'show package contents'
navigate through Contents>Frameworks>
Replace Eve3.framework folder with older version that works with my particular dongle.

Repeat with Modeler app

Done!!!

Chilton
09-05-2007, 09:23 PM
Well that's certainly interesting. What dongle do you have?

-Chilton

JohnKocon
09-06-2007, 05:19 AM
I have a purple USB dongle It says Rainbow Eve3 on one side, - ERB00710 and a 10 character serial # printed in black on the other....

v1u1ant
09-06-2007, 08:13 AM
I have one of those aswell. I haven't installed UB9.3 yet but i may do this over the weekend.

ill post if i have the same problem

AfterEffectsGuy
09-07-2007, 08:52 PM
John, what plaform (Mac/PC) are you referencing here w/this technique.

I'm apparently having the same prob because I have a purple dongle.

Chilton
09-07-2007, 09:05 PM
Universal Binary is a MacOS X-only concept. May I assume you're having problems with the PC install of LightWave and a purple dongle?

-Chilton

AfterEffectsGuy
09-07-2007, 09:12 PM
I was confused by the suggestion here because the directories for old and new won't correspond.

The 9.2 Eve3.framework is installed in your Library/FrameWorks folder

The 9.3 Eve3.framework is installed embedded as CFM in the app (access by right clicking)

I am still not having any success after copying over the older eve3.framework.

I still am getting an error message when I try to enter the unlock code.

Chilton
09-07-2007, 09:31 PM
Hi,

Well, let's start with what you do have...
1) Purple dongle, right?
2) What kind of Mac?
3) What version of the MacOS?
4) What error message are you getting?

Thanks,
-Chilton

Chilton
09-12-2007, 12:36 PM
Hi AfterEffectsGuy,

I am unable to reproduce this problem on any of the Eve3 or Duo dongles I have access to (which is quite a few). We might need to swap out your dongle. Are you still having this problem?

Thanks,
-Chilton