PDA

View Full Version : Animating rain in Lightwave

Thalek
09-04-2007, 10:32 PM
We make an odd pair: Rob's an old hand who uses LW 5.6, and I'm a complete newbie with the latest VT[4] version of LW.

But both of us are trying to figure out how to animate reasonably realistic rain in LightWave. Rob found a tutorial that creates an effect more like mist than rain, and I've been experimenting with Fog Tool Deluxe in Poser 7, which works very well by Poser standards, but . . . well, it's not exactly LightWave, now is it?

So, if anyone knows how to make a rain storm to walk or fly through, or even knows of a good tutorial, I'd be grateful if you'd let me know. :bowdown:

Thanks, folks!

SplineGod
09-04-2007, 11:02 PM
Are you referring to rain falling or rain striking a surface?
For rain coming down you can use particles or a point cloud. You can attach HVs surfaced to look like water or fxlink a small raindrop object to the particles.
A particle object composed of single point polys or partigons can also be used along with particle blur.

Thalek
09-04-2007, 11:05 PM
Are you referring to rain falling or rain striking a surface?
For rain coming down you can use particles or a point cloud. You can attach HVs surfaced to look like water or fxlink a small raindrop object to the particles.
A particle object composed of single point polys or partigons can also be used along with particle blur.

Ah, thanks. Once I hit the manuals again, I'll possibly even understand the answer. [wry smile]

In answer to your question, I was interested in rain falling. Rob may or may not be interested in rain striking a surface as well; I'll ask him.

I appreciate the fast response; thanks! :bowdown:

SplineGod
09-04-2007, 11:19 PM
Heres a very simple and quick example of using a cloud of single point polys to create the rain. The crust procedural was used to create the splashes on the ground.
http://www.3dtrainingonline.com/examples/rain.mov

Thalek
09-04-2007, 11:37 PM