PDA

View Full Version : DWG importing: no more excuses now.. ;)

Pavlov
09-01-2007, 12:20 PM
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=123112&id=9078672

Paolo

dballesg
09-01-2007, 12:30 PM
Sadly:

Criteria for licensure includes:

* Autodesk must approve all licensees’ applications before SDK will be provided.
* Autodesk reserves the right not to license the RealDWG SDK for use in software applications that compete with existing Autodesk software applications or strategies.
* Licensee must agree to Autodesk trademark and logo terms.
* Use of the RealDWG toolkit is subject to the RealDWG license terms and conditions.

Out of luck me thinks! :(

Dodgy
09-01-2007, 04:41 PM
Yup, autodesk really likes to play well with the other kids...

robk
09-01-2007, 11:43 PM
The $5000.00 a year fee might also drive away devlopers. Considering most Lightwave hobbiest's want all plugins for free.

Pavlov
09-02-2007, 06:30 AM
So pros will go away, instead.
I'm a pro user so btw i really hope NT raises its pricing to a level which allows to buy things like this and many other.
As i already stated many times, it's time NT chooses which route to go.
Having a foot in pro and one in hobby is imho a major drawback for LW development.
Be the best hobby tool, or finally a full and competitive hi-end tool. Once it was possible to stay in both, now the gap has become too large.
In both cases LW will sell more than now, and whiners would nearly disappear.
Or stay as now, and dont be able to do a lot of things because ones or other's interests, making both half-happy.
NT is into an Occam razor, not the most pleasant place to stay. Even for users.

Paolo

dballesg
09-02-2007, 06:43 AM
Hi Paolo,

I do not think 5000$ at a year is something Newtek cannot afford.

The problem is that Autodesk reserves their right of NOT to sell the dev kit to the competence! :(

So maybe Newtek would try to buy it and Autodesk say "NO".

Simply and sadly as that ! :(

Pavlov
09-02-2007, 06:53 AM