PDA

View Full Version : Proper use of reqopen();

foxco
08-28-2007, 11:11 AM
Hey all,

to start, I'm no programmer, and I read the User manual explanation of how to use reqopen, but no lies, I just don't understand the instructions on how to use it.

I am a much better study if I have a working code to backwards engineer while reading the Manual.

So my question is, could someone please post for me a working barebones script that utilizes reqopen();

cheers and thanks

Chad Fox
Rainmaker Entertainment

dballesg
08-28-2007, 11:27 AM
If you use the LScript Editor that cames with Lightwave, on your programs directory LSED.

It can generate a template code for many of the types of LScripts you can create. Choose for example a Master from the Tools -> Templates option and it will create a bare bone script for you.

David

Dodgy
08-28-2007, 11:34 AM
There's lots of examples on my website of lscripts. Here's a snippet.

reqbegin("MGMuscleBone Ver: "+myversion);
c0 = ctlcheckbox("Scale X",myxon);
c1 = ctlpercent("X Scale",myxscale);
c2 = ctlcheckbox("Scale Y",myyon);
c3 = ctlpercent("Y Scale",myyscale);
c4 = ctlcheckbox("Scale Z",myzon);
c5 = ctlpercent("Z Scale",myzscale);

ctlrefresh(c1,"xscaleUDF");
ctlrefresh(c3,"yscaleUDF");
ctlrefresh(c5,"zscaleUDF");

reqopen();

Since you're using reqopen, you have to have ctlrefresh call backs to do things for the interactive controls. Buttons and such like have callbacks built in, so you don't need to set them up for those types of control.

evenflcw
08-28-2007, 11:50 AM
If you add the little snippet at the top here you won't get an error if you try to open the plugins panel while it's already open. With reqend() there, as in the example it'll close the panel. With reqend() removed nothing happends (panel remains open).

options {

if( reqisopen() ) {
reqend();
return;
}

reqbegin("MGMuscleBone Ver: "+myversion);
c0 = ctlcheckbox("Scale X",myxon);
c1 = ctlpercent("X Scale",myxscale);

reqopen();

}

foxco
08-28-2007, 12:02 PM