PDA

View Full Version : Want professional graphics?

mlinde
06-25-2003, 02:11 PM
Send an email to the Apple store!
[email protected]

Here's my message:

Subject: Professional Macintosh Graphics

I'd like Apple to work with nVidia and/or ATI to produce professional cards based on the Quadro series of GPUs and/or the FireGL series of GPUs. As a professional 3D artist, I am tired of having to settle for a gamers graphics card for my 3D work.

Thank you for listening.
Michael Linde

brundlefly
06-27-2003, 05:03 AM
Yep, couldn't agree more. Hope Apple listens.

Andrew

Ade
06-27-2003, 05:48 AM
Steve Jobs did say there was support fopr ths now we have agp x8...

mlinde
06-27-2003, 07:38 AM
Originally posted by Ade
Steve Jobs did say there was support fopr ths now we have agp x8...

Hate to say it, but that's another crock of s***. It didn't take AGP 8x to have support for these processors on Intel/AMD PCs. It didn't even take AGP, there were older versions that were plain-old PCI. I've been looking at graphics cards since NuBus went away, and I haven't seen a card worth a damn. Back in the day (soft music begins) I had a great GPU in my Quadra 950, it sped up my Photoshop (2.5.1) editing amazingly. Then Apple started playing with PCI, and NuBus went away, and I haven't seen a quality graphic accelerlator in almost a decade, unless I looked next door at the guys sitting in front of the PC or SGI workstations.

Red_Oddity
06-27-2003, 09:55 AM
And it doesn't only need that, how about some decent OpenGL for a change, not this half arsed implementation we have now...
What good is a Wildcat videocard when Apples OpenGL implementation makes, for example, the GraphEditor freeze for a couple of seconds with every keyframe you select...

andrenozawa
06-27-2003, 12:45 PM
It doesn`t make sense having "the fastest computer "with the best mediocre graphic card...

Some stuff are missing on those G5...

Beamtracer
06-27-2003, 06:14 PM