PDA

View Full Version : Free ionic pillar



Andyjaggy
08-20-2007, 03:36 PM
Well hello there community. Thought I would give back and post a free model. Enjoy.

GandB
08-20-2007, 05:45 PM
Wow, that's a lot of polys. Did you use CCs or regular sub-d? I almost thought it was Corinthian, but the capital has the volute; instead of the highly detailed organic look of the Corinthian capitals.

Thanks for sharing. :)

-Keith

Lewis
08-20-2007, 05:53 PM
Niceeeee, very nice. Is that modeled with LWCAD or such method (profiler) or is not Lw model at all ?

Mike_RB
08-20-2007, 06:38 PM
Thanks, very cool. I used it to do a quick render test in modo301:

came in at 990,000,000 polys... Just shy of a billion...
http://www.elementvfx.com/WebDemo/modo_1B.jpg

GandB
08-20-2007, 07:22 PM
Wow, no wonder it was slowing down my comp just having a look at it! :)

loki74
08-20-2007, 08:19 PM
does ionic mean the same thing ionian? Nice model btw!

GandB
08-20-2007, 08:46 PM
Yes; you can see real-life examples of this order in both the Temple of Athena Nike and the Erechtheum, in Athens. Other than the obvious differences in the capitals of each of the 3 Orders, the shafts are different as are the bases (the Doric Order has no base, it sits directly on the Stylobate).

-Keith

tektonik
08-20-2007, 09:38 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ionic_order

the render i saw looks weird...

GandB
08-20-2007, 09:45 PM
The shaft doesn't appear to be tapered at the base. Also the Volute pairs appear to criss-cross, rather than lie parallel to each other.

But hey, it looks cool and it's free. :)

-Keith

@Tektonik; thanks for the link. ;)

Andyjaggy
08-21-2007, 08:35 AM
I have another version where they are parallel. But yeah, I was going for looks and coolness, it's not necassarily 100% accurate.

Andyjaggy
08-21-2007, 08:42 AM
Thanks, very cool. I used it to do a quick render test in modo301:

came in at 990,000,000 polys... Just shy of a billion...
http://www.elementvfx.com/WebDemo/modo_1B.jpg

That just made me depressed that we still don't have instancing.

cagey5
08-21-2007, 08:47 AM
That just made me depressed that we still don't have instancing.


Not yet we don't ...

Andyjaggy
08-21-2007, 08:49 AM
Yep. Still waiting. Hopefully sometime within the next two years.......

Andyjaggy
08-21-2007, 10:15 AM
Niceeeee, very nice. Is that modeled with LWCAD or such method (profiler) or is not Lw model at all ?

Nope it's all just native LW tools. I used the seashell tool to get the spirals. The embossing on the top of the pillar was done by sketching out the shape with splines and then going in and manually adding geometry. Not the slickest way but I find that manually doing things can sometimes be faster then finding some tricky way of doing it.

Oh and lots of radial arrays of coarse.

Here is the other pillar I made.