PDA

View Full Version : Is everybody happy?



jat
08-19-2007, 03:28 PM
Just wanted to ask the PPC G5 owners out there who have the 7800 GT card and 9.3 installed - is it fast enough for you?...stable enough for you?.......

Chilton
08-19-2007, 04:09 PM
Hi Jat,

We're not done with the UB yet. This is the first release, and there are always more optimizations that can be made.

I hope everyone is happy, just not completely satisfied, or why should we bother with an update? :devil:

-Chilton

avkills
08-20-2007, 05:26 AM
I've been very happy with the whole beta process up to this final release Chilton; but yes lots of things still need to be optimized; but this is by far the fastest Lightwave rendering wise on the Mac to date.

-mark

loki74
08-20-2007, 10:05 AM
Well I haven't downloaded it for my G5 yet, but I'm running it on my MacBook Pro, and it is so much nicer! I haven't had any time to really tinker with it, but just the look and feel of it is way better, and I've only heard good things about the render performance compared to the PPC only version..

unc1e meat
08-20-2007, 11:31 AM
Newtek guys, you really need to be commended for 9.3 UB! In the past I've been very vocal about my complaints about lightwave (even got kicked off the forum one time). But this new version is really something good. I've got it running on my macpro and the opengl seems to be as fast as it is on the windows install of lightwave. Also rendering is quicker and things just seem snappier in general. Also, it seems very stable so far. I think this 9.3 release is just the kind of momentum you (Newtek) needed. Thanks, Newtek!

I did install 9.3 PPC version on my powerbook g4 but haven't really played around with it much. Do you think it's better to just run the universal binary on my powerbook also?

Chilton
08-20-2007, 11:35 AM
Hi unc1e meat,

We fixed a great number of things in the UB version. In the course of its development, we've been running it daily on everything from a G4 Mac Mini up through the latest and fastest MacPros. It's faster than the CFM version, across the board.

-Chilton

hdace
08-20-2007, 11:48 AM
I'm a happy camper!

Largemedium
08-20-2007, 06:03 PM
Actually, with the lastest 1269 build, I'm noticing that it runs slower on my Mac. I've held off posting because it might be an issue on my end. Especially since everyone else seems to be so happy.

For example, I created a simple 2500 polygon ball in modeler. Sent it to Layout and it took a good 20 seconds or so for it to appear. When I clicked on the object, there was a slight delay of 3 seconds before it would select. If I cloned 5 more balls, I couldn't drag the ball without the object showing up as an outline (as I dragged). There are a few other quirks that bug me, but like I said, it might be local to my machine. Oh wait, and another major thing... when I quit Layout and Modeler, the hub doesn't quit. It stays running until I select it and tell it to quit. Then I get a message telling me it can't quit because Layout is running - even though it's not.

Any ideas on how I can speed everything up? What should I look for on my system that may be conflicting? Would it be Lightwave 9.0, even though it's not running?

Maybe I should have started a new thread?

My machine:

MacPro 2.66
X1900
6GB Ram

Chilton
08-20-2007, 06:08 PM
Hi,



Maybe I should have started a new thread?

Not a bad idea. It makes it easier to track issues when they're in their own threads.



Oh wait, and another major thing... when I quit Layout and Modeler, the hub doesn't quit. It stays running until I select it and tell it to quit. Then I get a message telling me it can't quit because Layout is running - even though it's not.

This bug was fixed in an earlier build. The Hub now checks the process list before displaying that error, which means if Layout is actually not there, you'll never see that message. Any chance you have an old copy of the Hub laying around?


Would it be Lightwave 9.0, even though it's not running?
Could be. The issue you're reporting with the Hub sounds a lot like how it would behave prior to the 9.3 UB Hub.

Largemedium
08-20-2007, 08:00 PM
Hi,


Not a bad idea. It makes it easier to track issues when they're in their own threads...

Thanks Chilton! I think what I'll do is delete all references to Lightwave then reinstall 9.3. I doubt I'm going to need 9.0 anymore if I can get the UB behaving correctly. If I'm still having problems, I'll start a thread with the specifics.

hdace
08-20-2007, 09:22 PM
Any chance you have an old copy of the Hub laying around?

You see, I need to keep lots of previous versions on my HD because I'm dealing with several scenes that I have to re-render (with slight changes) occasionally and they often look wrong in different builds. I keep track of which scene renders in which build.

So of course I have old copies of the hub "laying around". Does that mean the hiccups I've been having occur when the wrong version of the hub starts up with Layout?

What if I double-click the hub first, then Layout? Will that guarantee they'll match while I'm working?

Hal

Chilton
08-21-2007, 10:01 PM
Hi,

All you need to do is verify that the Hub you're running is the one that should be running. So command+click it while it's in the dock, and see if it's the same one that is in the folder next to your app.

-Chilton

hdace
08-23-2007, 08:13 PM
Hi,

All you need to do is verify that the Hub you're running is the one that should be running. So command+click it while it's in the dock, and see if it's the same one that is in the folder next to your app.

-Chilton

As usual, eveytime I ask a you a question the problem goes away before you have a chance to answer it! UB Build 1269 is running beautifully, has been for what, about a week now? I haven't had a single hiccup with hub since my last post.

Just for fun I tried your apple click trick which is cool. Didn't know you could do that. I thought I knew all those kinds of tricks (been Mac-ing since early 90s). Each time I've tried it the correct hub was running.

Hal

toby
08-25-2007, 03:42 PM
Just wanted to ask the PPC G5 owners out there who have the 7800 GT card and 9.3 installed - is it fast enough for you?...stable enough for you?.......
Just wanted to make sure you knew, set all your viewports to solid or texture to get the OpenGL speed. One view set to Wireframe will slow down all the viewports.
I can navigate a scene in nearly realtime, with a million polys (2x2 G5, ATI 7800, 64mb, old and slow!). Scrubbing animation is not as fast, but it's not slow enough to hurt the workflow.

jat
08-25-2007, 06:53 PM
toby, are you seeing any other wierdness? I am experiencing deadly slow menus and activation. Sometimes my selection modes don't work. This kind of stuff seriously needs to be squashed right now...............

toby
08-25-2007, 07:38 PM
No, but I haven't used modeler very much, is that where you're having trouble?

jat
08-25-2007, 07:43 PM
unfortunately yes............

toby
08-25-2007, 09:22 PM
Yeh, Modeler is pretty freakin' slow in comparison. Spinning a car around (290k polys) is fast but when you actually translate the geometry, prepare to wait 30-60 seconds.

Darth Mole
08-26-2007, 04:23 AM
Going back to the original question - no, not really. LW UB is really slow on My Quad G5/7800GT. Very slow GL redraw which, let's face it affects everything: the app is far less responsive than the PPC version (which I think is pretty good these days).

I hope these optimisations of which Chilton speaks appear sooner rather than later. For me the UB is still unusable for real work.

Darth Mole
08-26-2007, 04:32 AM
Ah - actually, perhaps it's not that bad. I was moving around a very large Sub-D object and realised that the PPC version was almost as slow!

My mistake. But I still want more optimisation anyway!

jat
08-26-2007, 06:41 AM
I have noticed that in some regrads the UB version is quicker but there are so many holes that I just can't use it. I've been having so many problems with LW that if things don't get fixed ASAP then I don't know what I'll do...I told them hire more programmers NOW not later!!!!!!!!

Chilton
08-26-2007, 07:06 AM
Hi Jat,

What problem do you run into most often?

How often do you have the crash with the 7800 GT card?

-Chilton

jat
08-26-2007, 10:11 AM
The interace is slow, clicking menus, activating tools, irregular behaviour (action center selection lag). Long load times for simple objects.

At times the app won't allow me to close or quit. You already now about the drag and drop problem. I'm not sure if this is a bug as well but if I try to double click a LWO file on my desktop it launches Modeler but doesn't load the object.

hdace
08-27-2007, 05:22 PM
That stuff was happening to me too. I trashed my configs and started again (including menu & keys settings) and now everything's great.

Realize you probably already been there but had to mention it anyway.

toby
08-27-2007, 10:38 PM
I don't get any of that kind of slowness in Modeler - is it after you've been working for a while? Because the half-hour per month that I use mine, it's perfectly normal, except of course trying to translate a hundred thousand polys - but I don't use the hub either... have you tried turning the hub off just to see if that's it?

toby
08-28-2007, 02:41 AM
Jeez-us, selection is a pain in the A** with just a 200k poly object. Even with most of them hidden; click on one polygon, spinning beachball. Tap your fingers for 10 seconds, then yell COME ON, then you can go again... until the next time you have to select a polygon.

It's no wonder people are frustrated with Modeler.

This is the UB, and without the hub too.

plandrey
08-28-2007, 02:20 PM
I've got UB running on 10 MacPros. It hasn't crashed yet, but some tools don't seem to work and then gives a message saying that Modeler could be unstable and recommends restarting. This has happened with Rounder mostly.

School just started yesterday, so my students haven't really pushed the systems yet. I'll let you know what happens.

Landrey

toby
08-28-2007, 07:16 PM
That always happens with Rounder. I think you're only supposed to use it on closed geometry or something like that.