PDA

View Full Version : memory only images



Blochi
08-16-2007, 01:17 PM
Heya,

By looking throug the commandllist of the latest 9.2 I found a sweet thingy: You can create blank images that are saved nowhere, they only exist in memory. They stay inherent when a scene is saved, means they get recreated when you load it back up. And they work on the farm too, from what I can tell....

What that's good for? Well, you can crop a black image in the background on the compositing tab, when you don't want the gradient backdrop appear in the render. Or you can use Textured Filter to throw all kinds of procedurals on it, even animated ones, and they show up in OpenGL. Kind of cool.

Anyway, I wrapped this hidden gem in a simple GUI:

www.blochi.com/gfx/lscripts/BlankImage.ls

Enjoy! It's a Generic Layout Script. Feel free to tweak it to your flavor...

adamredwoods
08-16-2007, 04:39 PM
Nice. I will have to explore.

JohnMarchant
08-18-2007, 08:51 AM
Hi blochi, thanks for the script. Ive been running it in the latest LW v 9.3, but it crashes everytime i use it.

Anyone else got this problem

Regards, John

Blochi
08-18-2007, 09:37 AM
Yeah I found this command unstable (but not always crashing). It seems to work better when there is already at least one image loaded. Very strange.
Maybe that is the reason NT didn't make this command a button themselves... It's not ready yet. Oh well...

JohnMarchant
08-18-2007, 10:04 AM
Thanks alot mate i will try to run it with an image already loaded

Regards, John