PDA

View Full Version : Combine UV's? Is it possible?

IMI
08-16-2007, 09:00 AM
I have a major problem.
I have a fairly complex model which is a .lwo and was supposed to stay a .lwo, but *suddenly* needs to be a .obj.
The problem is, it's fully UV mapped as a .lwo, in this case, with 3 different UV maps covering the 3 main "sections" of the model, as I saw it.
This is no good for .obj, and I'm wondering if it's possible to combine these 3 maps into 1? I've never tried it before, and I thought maybe I could export it as .obj and I'd get a layered map which I could then just move the parts around in the map. No go - it only exports the first map in the list in the vertex panel. I expected something like that, but had to try.
Anyway, is there anything I can do short of remapping the whole thing? I'm really not into the idea of spending the next 12 or so hours making a new map. (especially since I already did my part *grumble-grumble*)
Thanks. :)

nemac4
08-16-2007, 09:05 AM
You can combine the maps by using "Copy Vertex Map". Just copy to the base UV map from each of the other maps.

IMI
08-16-2007, 09:13 AM
Thank you. I'm going to try that. :)

IMI
08-16-2007, 09:59 AM
I think I'm misunderstanding something here. In the vertex map panel (as well as in Map tab), I can select Copy Vertex Map, but that's all it seems to do - it creates a copy of the selected map with a 1 appended to the name. There seems to be no "Paste Vertex Map" that I can find.
Unrealistic as it sounds, I was hoping to be able to paste one set of UV data on top of another set, and then just move them around accordingly into a cohesive single map. I'd like to think I understand UV maps pretty well, but I'm thinking that this sounds both feasible and ridiculous at the same time.
Well, I already started remapping this with one map. Thank God for the "Make UV Edit" plugin, which makes it so much simpler - but for future reference I'm still wondering how to go about this and what part I'm not getting. :)