PDA

View Full Version : Need answers for potential user

Johnjhn
08-09-2007, 03:48 AM
Hi,

I have been using 3dsmax since v1(yost group days). I cannot justify the cost of max anymore with their upgrades and I hate the way they wedged mental ray in. I am a student but do side work for money so I would not be able to buy a student license.

My current workflow:
I use Realsoft3d for modelling
I bring it to max for cleanup, zbrush for details and back to max for final rendering.

I need a program to fill the Max gap.
The requirements I need and hopefully lightwave can fill:

I need a uv editor that can manage multiple uvs on a model

I need to be able to bake a models texture so it go out to Adobe acrobat3d or Microsoft silverlight.I need the baking to be able to handle a whole scene or specific objects in a scene.

My needs for ik animation is limited.
Example:I model the lower limbs of skeleton .I wrap muscles around it and I show how the muscles are effected by the motion of the limbs.I usally do this in max with bone+ deformers and weights.

can this be done in lightwave without going through hoops?

When I am doing print work or animations my models do not exceed over 150,000 polys because I use normal maps.

I have been following Lightwave since the management reshuffle(seems like a good thing happened there). Lightwaves point .01 releases has been a 1.0 release for Max.

I need to be proficient(not a master) with lightwave within 7 months.

I use a x2 3800,2 gigs a ram and xp pro.Is this setup goos enough to handle what I need in lightwave?.

Sorry for all the questions but I need to get an idea of what I am getting into.The demo was taken down so I could not test it and I have to buy it at the end of august.

Thanks

John L

JohnMarchant
08-09-2007, 05:12 AM