PDA

View Full Version : Moving Muscle Reference :

pumeco
08-09-2007, 03:38 AM
Does anyone know where I'd find some 'moving' muscle reference material?

I've decided to spend next week looking into LightWave's animation and deformation system. After reading the manual, I'm left drooling at how powerfull it all seems, and it's got me wanting to learn by building a muscle rig. It seems entirely possible, but I'm no anatomy expert, so I'm after some references of both real and CG muscle movement.

I need to see how each muscle is attached, it's general size and position, and how it deforms through movement of the skeleton. I need to see a real life 'tight-skinned' body that moves in all directons. For example; arm up-down, arm front/back, and leg up/down, leg front/back.

And, because we've not yet managed to get a living human to volunteer, I need a CG animation of the muscles that show a skinless biped with an animated skeleton and flexing muscle movement. I know it sounds a bit errr... yukky, but I can't think of a better way to learn. I'd appreciate any links you guys know of. Even if it's of static material, that's better than nothing, because the more reference material the better.

Cheers!

Ztreem
08-09-2007, 04:23 AM
Maybe you should look after some bodybuilder pics and movies, they often have very prononced muscles and shows how they move.

archijam
08-09-2007, 05:46 AM
Depending which muscles you need, a gay friend showed me a YouTube phenomenon - guys flexing their muscles in front of their webcams - if you want free models, there are thousands already waiting...

j.

pumeco
08-09-2007, 09:00 AM