PDA

View Full Version : Method to slice up a model ???

Wolvster
07-29-2007, 05:50 AM
Ok, for starters I've been browsing these Boards for a VERY long time and love the Community here.
ALWAYS seems that there's guys more then willing to help out and I { being new myself } DEFINATELY appreciate that...:thumbsup:

So, first time poster so be gentle... :help:

I am a " real world " modeler by trade who is SLOWLY getting into the
whole Virtual model building world . It's a slow process, but as they say, you learn by DOING..
Anyway, I have several models that I have been toying with
in Lightwave and have run into a snag ? I have been wanting to learn for the longest time how to
" slice " up a model into equal sections to replicate in the real world. Essentially, I would use these
" slices " as templates for creating the shape of the object.

Lets say for example, a custom made Starship WARP NACELLE.
Now, I want to slice it into sections from font to back then
recreate it in the real world. Problem is, after a
TON of reading I cannot find any sort of function that will
EVENLY SLICE UP a model ??

Is there a plug in available out there for just such a purpose ?

Again, THANKKS for any help anyone may have.. :thumbsup:

prospector
07-29-2007, 06:21 AM
Bandsaw pro will if polys are even to start.
Knife will manualy if you use the grid as a template

Trevor
07-29-2007, 06:29 AM
Or Julienne,
found in multiply, subdivide, more, Julienne.

SplineGod
07-29-2007, 11:12 AM
If I understand you correctly you want individual slices out of your object and not to simply cut in new geometry.