PDA

View Full Version : An Important Decision

StevieB
07-19-2007, 09:32 PM
I've been using Blender for 2 months and I have quickly improved at 3d art.

http://i194.photobucket.com/albums/z167/stevenburi/Devastator-1.png

I am now trying to decide wether or not to switch from Blender to Lightwave - using the student discount since I'm 16 - and am really trying to decide wether its worth it or not.
With the 30 day trail - its too hard to decide at this point - I'm not sure if I will ever get used to this products interface.

So I was wondering for all the people who have had a switch similar to mine or just anyones opinion. Lol, what I really need is someone to convince me that its worth it. so please :help: .

I believe its already :agree: upon that Lightwave is obviously better then Blender but is it worth the money? I've been reading up and watching video tutorials - those that work anyways - trying to figure out wether or not to get it but so far - nothing...

StevieB
07-19-2007, 09:41 PM
For instance in Blender I can do a render in the same window that I'm modeling my object.

And in Lightwave I have to use 2 totally different windows to make the object and then render - and blender is easier to move yourself in 3d space which I like - you just press the middle button and move the mouse.

Its easy to see the advantages of a program you know well versus the disavantages of a program you do not know.

Can you customize shortcut buttons without programming? I found a feature in modeler that did something like this, edit commands, but I can't get that to work so maybe I'm wrong.

cresshead
07-19-2007, 09:56 PM