PDA

View Full Version : 9.2 Layout visualization problem



AmigaNewTek
07-11-2007, 04:12 AM
Hi,

i'm a new member and i'm using some beta version of lightwave.
I've noticed a visualization problem in the 9.2 layout. The camera and the object are not correctly displayed in the layout. Especially the camera, i cannot correctly rotate or positioning the camera cause all camera are not diplayed correctcly.

Thanks in advance

Lewis
07-11-2007, 09:14 AM
I didn't have such problem so far, can you show us screen grab with more details about problem ?

AmigaNewTek
07-11-2007, 11:40 AM
i've attached an image. As you can see the camera is not correctly displayed. The same for the other object, the planet and a ship. I cannot correctly rotate the camera or the other object, nor positioning on the screen.

it's something related to the distance or the grid size?

Thank you

AmigaNewTek
07-11-2007, 11:41 AM
Sorry, the green object is the camera.

tcoursey
07-11-2007, 11:46 AM
looks like an ogl issue. Have you tried messing with the ogl settings in LW or in your dirvers? also try different sets of drivers.....newest is not always best. good luck.

AmigaNewTek
07-11-2007, 11:47 AM
Another screenshot if i try to move or rotate the camera.

AmigaNewTek
07-11-2007, 11:49 AM
thank you

I've try different video card: A geforce 5600 go, and a Geforce 6800 with 256 mb of ram, getting the same result. :(

AmigaNewTek
07-11-2007, 12:01 PM
Important! I don't have this issue with other projects.
Sorry for the terrible ship model, BTW. I'ts my first project.

Thank you all

tcoursey
07-11-2007, 12:09 PM
sounds strange. If you open a brand new project up the camera doesn't look like the screen shots?

What happens when you open the new project that doesn't have this issue, and then import the new object again? If it fouls up the camera,there may be some sort of issue with the model some how. Just a guess. Sorry I'm not more help.

AmigaNewTek
07-11-2007, 12:30 PM
uhm, should i try this...

AmigaNewTek
07-11-2007, 12:43 PM
Same result

sigh

Lewis
07-11-2007, 01:41 PM
I can't see any of attachments you sent :(?

What's your OpenGL settings in display TAB ?

AmigaNewTek
07-11-2007, 02:47 PM
Solved!!!

simply unchecked the "Fixed Near Clip Distance" in the display option. Now i see the camera and the object. The earth surface is not well textured.

UnCommonGrafx
07-11-2007, 08:36 PM
Press the bracket keys a few times. Your grid is set at 100km across: the view you have is the only one you could.

Reduce that grid while at the same time press the zoom keys to keep things in view.

Basically, you are in the middle of mathematic improbabilities. "Huh", I heard you say...

You have one REALLY large item in the scene and one that is earthbound size. These two things can't share screen space like we would think they can because of the maths involved. That's where clipping distances come into play.

AmigaNewTek
07-12-2007, 03:30 AM
yeah, the grid size is one of the problem.

Thank you all for the help.

pixym
07-13-2007, 10:02 PM
For a screen shot PLEASE post JPEG instead of BMP... Way too much time to download the link...

Katarzis
07-14-2007, 04:50 AM
Solved!!!

simply unchecked the "Fixed Near Clip Distance" in the display option. Now i see the camera and the object. The earth surface is not well textured.

i had the same problem - thanks!!!

AmigaNewTek
07-14-2007, 06:19 AM
For a screen shot PLEASE post JPEG instead of BMP... Way too much time to download the link...

OK


Here's a jpeg image.:)

pixym
07-14-2007, 08:01 AM
Thank you Amiga ;)

AmigaNewTek
07-15-2007, 11:57 AM
Thank you Amiga ;)


you're welcome.

Nice community, btw.

Ciao