PDA

View Full Version : VT4 had delays in live switching

aferrin
07-10-2007, 03:39 PM
I am new to the Newtek world.

I purchased a VT4 to use in a production room switching a live 5 camera, 3 replay feed to a football stadium jumbotron.

:thumbsdow
I have had nothing but problems this year. Long story short. I am on my third VT4 card - running it on a Windows XP system. (3.0 ghz, 3.25 RAM, with 2 300 Gb HD's).

The issues I am dealing with involve a delay in the switches. Some cuts are clean. Others have a 1, 2, or 3 frame freeze before the cut takes.

With sports, even a 1 or 2 frame delay is noticeable and unacceptable...
Anyone out there experience this problem before?!

Blaine Holm
07-10-2007, 04:42 PM
Any system that has a DVE HAS to have a least a one frame delay.....are you camera's genlocked? If so, the delay should be no more than 2 frames, not noticible by most people. The Grass Valley Indigo, nearly twice the cost of a VT system has a 4 frame delay when doing a pic-n-pic.

tfrank
07-10-2007, 05:02 PM
The issues I am dealing with involve a delay in the switches. Some cuts are clean. Others have a 1, 2, or 3 frame freeze before the cut takes.

Is it a delay or are you seeing video actually freezing?

SBowie
07-10-2007, 09:08 PM
And are you switching between the Preview Row and Main using Take or Auto, or simply clicking directly on the Switcher buttons?

aferrin
07-11-2007, 01:27 PM
Any system that has a DVE HAS to have a least a one frame delay.....are you camera's genlocked? If so, the delay should be no more than 2 frames, not noticible by most people. The Grass Valley Indigo, nearly twice the cost of a VT system has a 4 frame delay when doing a pic-n-pic.

I am using the internal genlock. Possibly there are timing issues on the internal genlock. As I mentioned, some cuts are clean (no frozen frames), others have delay.

aferrin
07-11-2007, 01:31 PM
Is it a delay or are you seeing video actually freezing?