PDA

View Full Version : Graph Editor produces loads of Quits



Johnny
07-10-2007, 05:55 AM
I don't know if this continues to be a problem for people...I've just started using the graph editor to envelope my Cam's zoom factor, and seeing PLENTY of "unexpected quits."

what I'm trying to do is pretty simple, but I can see down the road, with more demanding graph editing needs, a major headache...

I'm using 8.5.

J

brian.coates
07-10-2007, 06:29 AM
If memory serves the Graph Editor was always a bit flighty in v8.

I recall a serious OpenGL conflicts between LW 8 and certain versions of OS X that made the Graph Editor completely off-limits for quite a while. Sounds like the problem hasn't gone away.

Johnny
07-10-2007, 07:45 AM
I am using 10.4.10 right now.

fighty is a good word...


J

eblu
07-10-2007, 07:51 AM
ditto. graph editor has always = LW layout crashes.

Johnny
07-10-2007, 08:03 AM
OK, so...since we have to use it at times, then scraping thru best you can is just the way it is then...

ya-hoo!

at least saving frequently can preserve what's been done up to the quit.

J

brian.coates
07-10-2007, 08:10 AM
You may not want to hear this but I've had zero problems with the Graph Editor in v9. Don't use it a hell of a lot since I do very little animation, but it hasn't caused me any problems when I have.

eblu
07-10-2007, 08:23 AM
brian,
I've been hearing that for years. when you do use it, and need to use it, you will feel the pain. I'm sorry.

Glendalough
07-10-2007, 08:51 AM
Hi Johnny,

I'm running 8.3 and didn't upgrade to 8.5 for some reason, can't remember, could have been for the graph editor which I use an awful lot. Don't know what 8.5 has over 8.3.

Find 8.3 exceptionally stable on 10.4.x. The only time, just about, it ever crashes is when a scene is continually changed and not saved.

Remember the graph editor was really really bad a few years ago with lightwave 7 and Panther.

Johnny
07-10-2007, 09:02 AM
I'm not sure what 8.5 has over 8.3 or 8.0, either, but I *know* that I am going to be using GE a lot for a film I'm working on, so...wonder if I can back-grade without breaking any of my scenes?

J

Glendalough
07-10-2007, 09:19 AM
I'm not sure what 8.5 has over 8.3 or 8.0, either, but I *know* that I am going to be using GE a lot for a film I'm working on, so...wonder if I can back-grade without breaking any of my scenes?

J

Think this is okay, as long as you don't use something the previous edition doesn't. Have worked on and saved 8.3 in 9 demo and then back to eight without a problem.