PDA

View Full Version : Another IK Boost Question

eagleeyed
07-09-2007, 09:47 AM
Hello everyone, first of all I will say I am a newbie to this.
At current I am trying to make a full humanoid robot rig, I have concluded that IK Boost will be the quickest method to animate the robot while getting good results (I may be misguided, please correct me if I am wrong:))

As the robot will be made of metal meaning no flexing etc. of it I thought that each seperate part of the robot would be on it's own layer. I am in early days so once again if this is not the best way to do it please correct me.

However I have tryed this method with primatives to create an arm before I model the actual object, moved the pivots to the correct positions, in Layout parented them to form a chain then enabled IK Boost on them, from this method I have had no success in making them link to each other and work with each other at all.

I have been making assumptions on how to do this, I have used google to little avail, watched parts 1 - 3 of the videos on Ikboost.com and have tryed to search these boards, however it seems the search function may be down, it just kept coming up with an error message.

Any help would be appreciated, Thanks.

Oh, and that offer in my signature about the free hosting is real, I currently have about 1.5GB space available and alot of bandwidth that I am not using so I thought I would put it to good use. I am not asking for anything in return, no ads, no money, it will be up to the person who chooses to run it to make the site and maintain it. It just has to benifit the Lightwave community and not be for a individuals personal gain. Domains are able to be attached and two MySQL databases are free for use. PM if you are interested. :)

Castius
07-09-2007, 10:09 AM
The move pivot method should work. But i would not use it by itself.

Try this setup.
in Modeler
on layer one of your mesh make a skelegon setup for the rig.
then make all your other parts on the other layers.