PDA

View Full Version : Weight help!

ben martin
07-05-2007, 05:33 AM
Hi,

I'm new to weight map but I'm weighting a mesh (human character) to rig.
I mainly use the modeler command "NEW WEIGHT MAP" to define the mesh parts weight name and value.

Simple question:
Is it possible, beside the Name and Value, to define (for display purposes) in Weight Shade mode, different colours to the different created weights?
If yes, how?

This question reason is simple: when I'm defining the weight values to contiguous mesh areas but using different values I never know (looking to the weight shade display) where one area is finishing and where the other is starting / borders since red shades are used to all the weight areas.

I believe that something like the attached image would be gold over blue, but unfortunately the modeler "NEW WEIGHT MAP" command does not allow a color to be defined… simple and effective but not available, or am I missing something?

Thanks for your time.

Sensei
07-05-2007, 08:33 AM
No possible. Weight is single value, not RGB color. IMHO it's serious lack that it's impossible to see multiple weight maps at a time..

Dodgy
07-05-2007, 08:49 AM
If you open the vertex map window, you can multi select up to 4 weight maps to see how they affect each other.

I prefer to do this in vertex paint though as you can rotate your fingers to see the effects.

dpont
07-05-2007, 08:55 AM
Yes, VertexPaint was exactly what I tried, you need the skelegon
inside the layer or LoadBones from DStorm, if it is a scene skeleton.

Denis.

SplineGod
07-05-2007, 10:02 AM
Hey Ben, Unless you have an absolutely overwhelmping reason to use weight maps I would setup your character with bones first, rest them and then run it thru some deformation tests before resorting to weight maps. You may find that you dont need them esp since weight mapping a hand can become quite tedious.

ben martin
07-05-2007, 10:44 AM