PDA

View Full Version : Bryce 5.5 for nothing.



starbase1
06-30-2007, 01:32 AM
I came across this on another list, and thought it would be of possible interest - it is possible to get the 3d software Bryce for free at the moment:

=============================

Bryce 5.5 is currently downloadable for free (legally) from this address
http://www.daz3d.com/newsletter/2007/redirects/736__Download_Bryce_Free.php
or at download.com
You'll need to register (free) here to get your password to use it:
http://www.daz3d.com/bryce55
Bryce Lightning is available, also free, allowing you to render your
Bryce 5.5 scenes across various computers on your internal network while
you continue to work on your computer

archijam
06-30-2007, 02:59 AM
... and upgrade to Bryce 6 for 20 USD ...

Actually DAZ is an interesting business model, making its key income from other purchses (half-naked female models, if the website is any guide) instead of the software itself, allowing them (for example, Newtek) to maintain a low price (of LW) in the future ..

Maybe sean hargreaves has a point (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=69985).

j.

Qexit
06-30-2007, 04:14 AM
And provided you 'get in quick' you can also pick up one of their related Bryce Master Series tutorial packs for free. There are currently four to choose from, though only the Cloud City one is of use with Bryce 5.5 as the other three require Bryce 6.1.

http://www.daz3d.com/i.x/shop/catmain/-/?cat=179

Then again, at only $19.98 for an upgrade to Bryce 6.1 that may not be a problem :D

ShawnStovall
06-30-2007, 04:37 PM
... and upgrade to Bryce 6 for 20 USD ...

Actually DAZ is an interesting business model, making its key income from other purchses (half-naked female models, if the website is any guide) instead of the software itself, allowing them (for example, Newtek) to maintain a low price (of LW) in the future ..

Maybe sean hargreaves has a point (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=69985).

j.


:agree: :agree:

zapper1998
06-30-2007, 05:37 PM
wow, cool, going to run out and buy it.......must have it.......omg

opps, it wont run on 64 bit, darnit anyway......BUMMER....

Michael

Andyjaggy
06-30-2007, 10:37 PM
... and upgrade to Bryce 6 for 20 USD ...

Actually DAZ is an interesting business model, making its key income from other purchses (half-naked female models, if the website is any guide) instead of the software itself, allowing them (for example, Newtek) to maintain a low price (of LW) in the future ..

Maybe sean hargreaves has a point (http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=69985).

j.

Yes Daz is an interesting company. They are located about an hour from where I live. I was talking to a girl once and the subject of Daz came up and I said I would never want to work at a place that cranks out cheap 3d porn characters. She looked at me and said "My husband works there"............... Oops.

sean hargreaves
06-30-2007, 11:19 PM
Guys, thanks for taking my point!

Ok, now, this is important. Andy, I sent you a message too.....my friggin' textures on these Turbosquid buildings are all off, the wrong size, and I have a lot of buildings. The files are .3ds
I load up the buildings in modeler and the texures are tiled or too big, the helicopter pad is on the side (and theres 10 of them 'cause its tiled). I mean, why don't they just give it to me already sized? I have a lot of buildings, painful. Its benn a day of pain!!!!! I hate it! :bangwall: I hate it!:bangwall: I hate it (again)!:bangwall:

archijam
07-01-2007, 05:41 AM
And provided you 'get in quick' you can also pick up one of their related Bryce Master Series tutorial packs for free. There are currently four to choose from, though only the Cloud City one is of use with Bryce 5.5 as the other three require Bryce 6.1.


The weird thing is they still ask for your credit card info (Though "your card will not be charged")

Think I'm going to skip that one. I trust them, just not the security of their server :) .

By the way, I was not knocking the naked models, the quality of them is actually very high, though I think it's a bit much to have a new one appearing as the background of every page. I felt like minimising my browser whenever someone came in the room ;)

j.

edit: You can also click paypal ... which goes fine. What did I want a cloud scene for again ... ? ;)

archijam
07-01-2007, 05:47 AM
I load up the buildings in modeler and the texures are tiled or too big, the helicopter pad is on the side (and theres 10 of them 'cause its tiled).

You should download the cloud scene, in Bryce 5.5, Helicopters CAN land on the side of buildings ... I will never go back! :hey:

j.

R Haseltine
07-01-2007, 07:32 AM
Choose PayPal or enter a made up credit card number - since it won't be charged it doesn't have to work (of course the evil plan is that you will then decide to buy stuff and choose to enter real payment details).

Andyjaggy
07-01-2007, 07:53 AM
Hey Sean. Is there a UV map with the buildings? Or are the textures just mapped using one of the projection styles, cubic, cylinder etc.......

sean hargreaves
07-01-2007, 08:05 AM
I've screwed up this thread, so sorry guys! Panicking a bit!
Andy, theres a .jpg file it comes with. So yes, when I loaded it itwas cubic mapped! Hating life right now! :grumpy:

sean hargreaves
07-01-2007, 09:49 AM
Guys, call off the fire alarm, I've sorted it out. It was a uv map, and a size/rotation matter. Uggghhhh........such an easy fix for something seemingly so painful (for me!). Thanks for the tips....:thumbsup:

Andyjaggy
07-01-2007, 10:13 AM
In my experience the scale of objects gets messed when exporting them as a different format. Just a heads up.

MicroMouse
07-01-2007, 02:11 PM
For some 3DS files, translation, scaling and rotation information from the first key frame in the key frame section of the file has to be used to properly size and rotate and position the meshes.

For some 3DS files, the above should not be done to the meshes.

It is confusing but there is no flag set in the file to indicate which method should be used.

Wayne

starbase1
07-01-2007, 02:47 PM
:hijack: :hijack: :hijack:

Oi!

archijam
07-01-2007, 03:36 PM
True.

Back to our scheduled programming: Bryce 5.5.

I made a render! I feel 16 again (see below).

But seriously, the import and export has some nice (rare) formats:

IMPORTING AND EXPORTING 3D OBJECTS
Bryce can import objects saved to the following file formats.
􀁺 TrueSpace™ (.cob) Versions up to 4.0 are supported. Material properties are supported.
􀁺 VideoScape (.vsa) All versions are fully supported.
􀁺 VRML1 (.wrl) Imports all properties relevant to Bryce, including camera, light, and surface and material textures.
􀁺 LightWave™ (.lwo or .lws) Both objects and scenes are supported. The camera, lights, and all objects (with material information) are imported. Versions 6 and up are not supported.
􀁺 Heightfield (.hf) Used to import descriptions of heightfields (terrains).
􀁺 USGS DEM (.dem) All forms of DEM files are supported.
􀁺 USGS SDTS (.ddf) This format is the new USGS format which will replace DEM files.
􀁺 Portable Greyscale Map (.pgm) Used to import descriptions of heightfields (terrains).
􀁺 3d Studio® Objects (.3ds)
􀁺 3DMF (.3mf)
􀁺 AutoCad® (.dfx)
􀁺 Direct 3D (.x)
􀁺 Wavefront (.obj)
􀁺 WCS Elev (.elev)

EXPORTING
􀁺 WorldToolKit® (.nff)
Bryce can export your final rendered object to most of the file formats listed above. You can also export a rendered object to the following file formats:
􀁺 Ray Dream Studio (.rds)
􀁺 RayShade (.hf)
􀁺 Infini-D 4.0 (.id4)
When you export a file, you save information, such as vertices, smoothed normals, UVs, and texture maps.

Though: Lightwave - versions 6 and up are not supported .. ? I assume they are refering to lws. Any other 3d apps that export lws?

j.

starbase1
07-01-2007, 04:22 PM
Yes, most progs have some set of load save combinations that lets you get something through you otherwise could not - it's one reason I have a big pile of rarely 3d applications I hardly ever use from cover disks or special offers!

And the worst of the lot is landscape height data! I sometimes think there are more formats for that than everything else put together...

Nick

archijam
07-02-2007, 05:17 AM
Yes, most progs have some set of load save combinations that lets you get something through you otherwise could not - it's one reason I have a big pile of rarely 3d applications I hardly ever use from cover disks or special offers!

And the worst of the lot is landscape height data! I sometimes think there are more formats for that than everything else put together...

Nick

... and which free program deals with the most of them, the best (for height data)? The Bryce list actually pales compared to the Blender one, but there are some weirdly rare ones here ...

j.