PDA

View Full Version : I want this as my render farm!



Matt
06-27-2007, 07:35 PM
IBM Blue Gene/P - 294,912 processors!!!
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/6241566.stm

Installing ScreamerNet would be a ***** though! :D

hrgiger
06-27-2007, 07:48 PM
Maybe they'd let you borrow a little render time on it...

Andyjaggy
06-27-2007, 09:11 PM
Can you imagine. Turn every render intensive thing on up to max quality settings and your render would still be done in seconds. Mmmmmmmmm.

Mr Maze
06-27-2007, 09:23 PM
I saw that IBM had made a monster but it wasn't up and running about a month or two ago. guess they made some progress.

On an interesting note: At work the other day, a repair tech from IBM was over doing a warranty MB swap on a laptop, and I somehow got him on the topic of linux. Apparently, IBM is gearing up to be only using Linux within the next year or two. He said they are planning on switching completely over...

Captain Obvious
06-28-2007, 02:12 AM
You do of course realize that by the time we have access to this kind of computing power, we'll still be looking at overnight renders for stills and several hours per frame for animations. We'll just render more complex scenes and higher resolution.

LAV
06-28-2007, 04:22 AM
Very true...

I think back on my "long" over night renders on the Amiga... And what do I have today... Long over night renders! :)

I did it too. An I DO it now! God bless the nights.

Matt
06-28-2007, 04:41 AM
I wonder if we'll ever get to a point where there is no render button, because EVERYTHING will be done in real time.

I think I'd miss it, I actually like the expectation of coming in next day to see what the renders look like! It's like christmas everyday in my house!

:D

Lightwolf
06-28-2007, 04:42 AM
I wonder if we'll ever get to a point where there is no render button, because EVERYTHING will be done in real time.

If you want an honest answer... not within out lifetimes ;)

Cheers,
Mike

hrgiger
06-28-2007, 05:42 AM
I wonder if we'll ever get to a point where there is no render button, because EVERYTHING will be done in real time.




That's coming soon in Fprime 17.

BeeVee
06-28-2007, 06:37 AM
What interests me is the fact that it has some 294,000 processors and only manages to be as fast as 100,000 desktop machines. Where's the fun in that?

B

Captain Obvious
06-28-2007, 07:24 AM
What interests me is the fact that it has some 294,000 processors and only manages to be as fast as 100,000 desktop machines. Where's the fun in that?
IBM realized that it's not performance per unit that matters, but performance per volume and energy. A low-power and low-performance CPU like the ones used in BlueGene will have higher performance per watt than a high-end one, meaning you can squeeze in more of 'em in a given volume.

CMT
06-28-2007, 07:45 AM
I just ordered 2.... :)

Matt
06-28-2007, 08:23 AM
I just ordered 2.... :)

LOL! Only two?

Lightwolf
06-28-2007, 08:47 AM
I just ordered 2.... :)
Hm, since LW only comes with render licenses for 999 nodes, you should also budget for 589 additional copies of LW then. But who knows, you're likely to get a small discount ;)

Cheers,
Mike

hrgiger
06-28-2007, 11:44 AM
Yes, so for those 895 additional licenses, provided Newtek doesn't give you a nice bulk rate, will cost you only an additional 88,605 plus tax if applicable. That's not a big deal when you consider how much 2 of those computers will cost you.

Lightwolf
06-28-2007, 11:47 AM
That's not a big deal when you consider how much 2 of those computers will cost you.
But wait, that's only software... the farm is HARDWARE :hey:

Cheers,
Mike ;)

Matt
06-28-2007, 11:54 AM
You know, I've often thought if I won BIG on the lottery (which would be difficult as I don't do it!) I'd love to setup a huge render farm, hire some talented programmers to write a really slick scene submission program/website , and then offer it for free to LightWave users only!

:D