PDA

View Full Version : PC Specs for a Render Farm

igogusto
06-22-2007, 05:19 PM
Hello All,

This is my first post, so please be kind. I am a Network Engineer that has been asked to help implement a Rendering Farm. Excuse my ignorance, but I am a complete newbie to LW and ScreamerNet. I searched the forums before asking the questions but did not find what I was looking for.

1. I wanted to see if a P4-2.8Ghz computer with 512MB-1GB of RAM will suffice for a rendering node? I plan to use 5-10 computers with the same specs to setup the Rendering Farm.
2. I wanted to keep the cost down and run all of the nodes on Linux and use Wine to run ScreamerNet, but it seems like too much of a hassle. The artists computer is running XP 64, but the nodes will be running XP Pro, will that pose a problem?
3. I have read some info that network speed is not crucial and some that state that it is. I plan to setup a GB network if needed.
4. How many nodes, at the PC specs above would be sufficient for a single artist to use, rendering very large textured images or video? His current render has been running 24/7 for 2 weeks on a very high end system.

Thanks for any input on these questions!!! If I have missed some threads on the questions, please point me in the right direction. Thanks again for your time!!!

G.

Bushmsn
06-25-2007, 01:11 PM
I use mule, it has easy setup. go to there website and wacth there setup tut's

stevehmeyer
06-25-2007, 04:18 PM
Check out Amleto (I give it 12 stars out of 5!!! and 6 thumbs up) at

http://www.nodalideas.com

it uses IP protocol and has auto config along with three ways of communicating. I have found that it is very easy to use, very reliable and with an HTML interface it is quite easy to keep track of progress. The price is reasonable.