PDA

View Full Version : How to replace multiple objects



Boris Goreta
06-20-2007, 03:15 PM
I want to replace 50 objects X with object Y. If I multi select those 50 objects in Scene Editor and select replace with object command only one object gets replaced. Any ideas ?

RudySchneider
06-20-2007, 03:22 PM
Hmmm... You may want to investigate PICTRIX's PxClone plugin:
http://www.pictrix.jp/lw/Px_Clone/index_e.html

pooby
06-20-2007, 03:33 PM
open up the Scene file in a text editor and use an automatic function to replace the names there

titane357
06-20-2007, 04:41 PM
Try this :

http://64.85.4.146/GetDetail.cfm?ID=1957 (replace all with object ) :D

Cageman
06-20-2007, 04:43 PM
Try this :

http://64.85.4.146/GetDetail.cfm?ID=1957 (replace all with object ) :D

Yep! I've used it several times... highly recommended!

erikals
06-20-2007, 05:37 PM
I'd go for the plugin, but it never hurts to open the scene in a text editor though, just to see what it is all about ;)

titane357
06-21-2007, 01:18 AM
Agree, always good to learn !

But sometimes little plug in is a great helper when you want to fake a random replacement wusiwug !

pixym
06-21-2007, 06:52 AM
Blochi have a plugin called ReplaceAllObject

faulknermano
06-21-2007, 09:50 PM
i prefer going with the scene file. it's faster, but a bit tricky depending on your filenaming conventions.

titane357
06-22-2007, 01:55 AM
hi learnie. But can you make changes in .lws file without closing scene in layout ?

Exception
06-22-2007, 03:32 AM
hi learnie. But can you make changes in .lws file without closing scene in layout ?

Yes, but it won't update, you're going to have to reload it. Of course if you let lw save over it your changes will disappear.

titane357
06-22-2007, 03:40 AM
It would be cool to have an text like editor (as .lws) which can edit scenes in real time. ( a supertextsceneeditor ):phone_cal (I call NT)

G M D THREE
06-23-2007, 11:24 PM
My lazy trick to swap all object is to name the new object like the one I want to swap and put the old out of the directory. Reload the scene and save the new object under a new name out of lay out.

///

Cageman
06-24-2007, 12:53 AM
Well... I've worked with scenes that easly take over a minute to load because the huge ammount of keyframe data. The thing is, when doing it the oldschool way you kind of have to reload the scene just to check everything is ok. So, why not use a tool that can interactivly replace all selected objects with the one you choose? 3-4 mouseclicks and no reloading. :)

Seriously, this kind of thing should have been a standard tool in LightWave because of its architecture (.lws .lwo separation).

RedBull
06-24-2007, 03:58 PM
Yeah i agree this needs to be fixed in LW, and i don't use LW as much anymore for reasons like this one... The simple tasks can be way too tedious.

I did manage to ask this as a feature request a year or two ago...

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=49571

faulknermano
07-03-2007, 08:23 PM
actually even replacing objects in layout is problematic at times. it croaks when replacing objects that have certain displacement handlers attached, for example. cant say for sdk plugs, but if lscript was used, it could still lead to crashes no matter how sophisticated the replacing mechanism. a little bulletproofing from lw's internals is needed. of course, i'm still using 8.5... so if this isnt an issue with 9.2, then ignore me. :)