PDA

View Full Version : setting up Screamernet network - PLZ help

boberto102
06-17-2007, 08:43 AM
My current PC doesn't render fast. I am looking to upgrade and would like to also network 3 other pc's together to use with screamernet. As i am quite new to this I am shure you can understand... I NEED HELP.

Firstly components-
What affects the speed of rendering firstly on the HOST pc. (also the speed of running the programme). Obviosly CPU but will the amount of RAM and Graphics card have a large impact once i move past 7900gt and 2GB?

What hardware will affect the speed of rendering on the NODE pc's. Will the graphics cards affetc speeds in them or is it just the CPU's that are used? Ditto for RAM.

Secondly Operating system-
Is it possible to use XP/vista on the host pc but then run linux on the node pc's and screamerrnet will still run well?

Finally- does it matter if -the hardware on each node pc- or -the hardware on the Host pc and node pc's- is different? how will this affect performance?

Thank you for your time, i look forward to your replies.:)

boberto102
06-17-2007, 08:52 AM
- if there is anything I seem to have missed point it out.
One thing i have just picked up on is that i thought screamernet what a renderfarm ap included with lightwave that you configured with your networked pc's and away you go. However looking at some other threads i can see people talking about other render farm software? have I got the wrong end of the stick or are what they are talking about just alternatives to screamernet?

tnx

Bytehawk
06-17-2007, 09:33 AM
what affects rendering doesn't matter if it is the 'host' or the 'node' pc

1) memory : make sure you have enough of it and that it is fast
2) processor speed : don't go for the expensive top of the line, but choose the 'sweet spot' processor

if you're rendering large scenes with lots of textures, the network speed is also important

flakester
06-17-2007, 09:56 AM