PDA

View Full Version : Printing in Lightwave

Ty Catt
06-16-2007, 09:57 AM
Hey y'all,

Anyone have any pointers and or settings for optimal printing results?

Things like resolution, format's, do's or dont's?:help:

I am using version 7.5.

This is my first time actually printing my work in large format (to be printed on those trade show pull up type screens).

I would attach a thumb of the work, but it's a new product which the client doesn't want public. It's an outdoor scene, I don't know if that helps.

Thanks, guys.

Ty

tribbles
06-16-2007, 10:18 AM
I'd say ask the printers what they'd recommend.

For magazine work, I tend to do 300dpi CMYK TIFF - but for large print, you don't normally need that resolution.

Bytehawk
06-16-2007, 02:01 PM
for regular print jobs I use 350 dpi
for posters 300
for larger (and I mean really large) formats I can go as low as 50 dpi

Ty Catt
06-16-2007, 02:09 PM
Hey guys,

Do you mean after the image has been imported into Photoshop to keep note of the resolution?

There isn't a way of controlling the resolution in Lightwave, is there?

Maybe my question was confusing, sorry.:)

I meant are there any methods or techniques which should be used (or avoided) in the render process for optimal printing results.

Thanks!

Ty

Bytehawk
06-16-2007, 02:18 PM
well I always try to get the most out of my renders (psd layer output with all the layers I could possibly need), especially surface ID !!!!
so that if you need to tweak something there's no need te re-render everything.

Silkrooster
06-16-2007, 10:04 PM
Hey guys,

Do you mean after the image has been imported into Photoshop to keep note of the resolution?

There isn't a way of controlling the resolution in Lightwave, is there?

Maybe my question was confusing, sorry.:)

I meant are there any methods or techniques which should be used (or avoided) in the render process for optimal printing results.

Thanks!

Ty