PDA

View Full Version : Help! Transferring weight maps.



jake456
06-13-2007, 07:36 AM
Hi everyone,
I've got a modified copy of a pretty complex model that I've done a lot of work on in Lightwave but which doesn't have the original's weightmaps attached to it (don't ask me!). How do I transfer the original's weight maps to the modified model in an easy way? I'm pretty new to 3D and feel sure that there must be a better way than remaking the whole set of weight maps again! I tried exporting/importing from Vertex Paint but only managed to get the maps set up in name only; none of them were associated with any polys. Also is it possible to transfer selection sets as select by map might be an answer.
Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Sensei
06-13-2007, 08:04 AM
VMapManager from TrueArt's Modeling Pack http://modelingpack.trueart.eu can do that.. You load and save any vertex map from/to image..

Dodgy
06-13-2007, 10:21 AM
Are the points in the same place in both models? If so, copy the one model over the other in modeler, and merge the points, then unify the polys. This should merge the vertex maps from the mapped model onto the unmapped model, providing the unmapped one doesn't have those maps.

Dodgy
06-13-2007, 10:26 AM
Also

http://www.kanra-kanra.com/html/takeout.htm

DrainBKVmaps might be what you need.

jake456
06-15-2007, 10:16 AM
Thanks 'Dodgy' and 'Sensei' for the helpful advice.
'Dodgy', I used the 'drain background' plugins' to transfer maps from a background layer. Seems a good set of tools to have;
(http://www.kanra-kanra.com/html/takeout.htm)
Worked well, only on a large model and with anything less than than 'quad core' you have to leave it running for the weekend!
Anyway thanks again.