PDA

View Full Version : 9.2 Crash Crash Crash please help.........

Rhothgar
06-12-2007, 10:06 PM
OK I give up....

I sure would like to use 9.2. But It just does not seem like it's gonna happen. DANG IT!

I hate to bug people about this I feel like an idiot. But I believe I'm not the only one out there that has a love hate relationship with my computer. :compbeati I'm an ARTIST Jim! Not a desk top support guy!.

*sigh* I'm currently running Windows 2000 professional SP4 (I wonder if 9.2 will only run well on XP...)

9.0 seems to run just fine. (very cool) I love Lightwave.

9.2 crashes every time I try and render one single image. Why!? Why!? Why?:cursin:

Note: I still have 9.0 installed. could there be some kind of conflict here?

If anyone has any suggestions I would appreciate it very much....

I sure would like to use 9.2.

GraphXs
06-12-2007, 10:20 PM
Make sure LW9.2 is using its own configs, maybe thats the issue.

eokeisler
06-12-2007, 10:38 PM
I use 9.2 on W2K SP4 - no 'problemo here.

GraphXs ' suggestion is worth checking out. I've heard the same thing about config file mixups causing 9.2 instability.

Phil
06-13-2007, 12:31 AM
If you ran any of the beta releases, or have brought forward configs from 9.0, then you will hit problems. You need to nuke the config files. The best option here is, if you have any customisations for menus or keys, to save those out from Modeler and/or Layout.

Then delete the 9.2 config files (LWHUB9.CFG, LW9.CFG and LWM9.CFG) and start everything from scratch. You can keep LWEXT9.CFG in my experience, which helps if you have a lot of plugins around.

Be very careful to keep your 9.0 and 9.2 configs separated (using the -c redirection switch).

You will also possibly get crashes if you are using old third party camera plugins (e.g. the tiltshift one). The plugin system for cameras changed in 9.2 compared to 9.0 and the old plugins now cause a crash.

Rhothgar
06-13-2007, 07:27 PM