PDA

View Full Version : New to lightwave,Need help/advice

billuke
06-12-2007, 09:07 AM
Hi everyone! I am very new to 3d modeling (I'm using LW7.0),and I am trying to do a documentary on blindness. I need to come up with a Walking cane (folding type) that has facial features EYES.NOSE,MOUTH, that can talk to the user of the cane. I have been using LW for about a month,and am lost.
I could send pictures of the actual cane that I want to model.This is for non-profit,and any help would be greatly appreciated !

colkai
06-12-2007, 01:59 PM
The easy way is to build the cane, eyes, mouth eyebrows as separate objects.
Pretty much can all be done with primitives apart from the mouth which I'd recommend using Sub-Ds (can't recall - does LW7.5 have sub-Ds ?)

You ARE using 7.5 aren't you? that was a free upgrade for LW7 and well worth having. I think my LW7 was 7.5C if I recall.

hrgiger
06-12-2007, 02:03 PM
Yes, if you are new to 3D, I would recommend building your facial features as seperate objects, much like a lot of cartoon characters sometimes are.

billuke
06-12-2007, 05:28 PM
Hey'Thanks for the replies. Unfortunetly I'm using only 7.0 I can't upgrade because it came with the editing pc I bought with no documentation.Aside from that, I know what you guy's are saying,but It cant look or react too cartoonish,or come off stupid! The face of the cane is actually going to be near the bottom tip of the cane,as to give a birds - eye veiw of what the cane is seeing. I just am not sure if I should make the face part of the cane ie: wrap around the diameter, or have it (the Face) extend outside of the diameter. P.S. Your not the hr geiger of Alien fame ,are you?

billuke
06-12-2007, 05:39 PM
Never mind hr. different spelling.

colkai
06-13-2007, 04:22 AM
I'd say, face outside the cane, I would imagine seeing the eyes and mouth extended. This is something I threw together as an example.

billuke
06-13-2007, 07:39 AM