PDA

View Full Version : Need some capture help....

m.d.
06-07-2007, 07:30 PM
I am trying to capture main and program on 2 seperate 500 gig seagate drives.

I have a seperate drive for my OS, and a WD raptor for my DDR/DDV

When i record program out.....no problem....100%
When i try recording either main or preview, they drop frames and fail within minutes(seconds really)

now this is only recording 1 single stream, not the 2 or 3 I was hoping for

Before we all say 'sata drives can't handle it.... you need scsi' I want to make it clear that the program out records fine, main and preview fail all the time....they fail when i only have 1 capture module running.

Now I am a toaster newbie, so feel free to throw out "did you plug in the sx-84" because i am relatively stupid in this matter...and you never know:help:

m.d.
06-07-2007, 07:34 PM
p.s.
i did check cpu loads, and recording 2 streams were under 25%
quad core intel 6600, so i doubt that is the problem

Bushmsn
06-08-2007, 11:00 PM
Can you give us a little more info. What are you recording from? tape or from a clip your playing back. Are your drives striped?

m.d.
06-09-2007, 08:06 AM
recording from anything really....
i'm just experimenting right now...so i was recording 2 cameras and some ddr clips.
my drives are not striped, but i was recording each output(program, and main)to seperate drives

being that uncompressed is only 22 MB a second(well below the drives minimum) and my cpu load is only at 25%, i don't see why this is happening,unless it's some sort of I/O issue on the sata bus.

Bushmsn
06-09-2007, 01:39 PM
are your ddr clips on a different drive from the one your recording to? Also are you recording two inputs at the same time? How much Ram do you have?

PIZAZZ
06-10-2007, 07:56 AM
If your captures are failing when recording from the Main OUT then that is because of sync issues with the internal software TBCs. You lose a frame in the Main Out when you switch inputs on the Main Row.