PDA

View Full Version : 3D City



jtoney7852
06-05-2007, 04:36 PM
I am in search of the Golden Gate bridge as seen in the video below. I am trying to animate a ship moving through the area in a futuristic environment. Suggestions?

<object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/tJHANrzMSlk"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/tJHANrzMSlk" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>

jtoney7852
06-05-2007, 04:53 PM
Ok try this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tJHANrzMSlk

hrgiger
06-05-2007, 05:02 PM
That video is funny when you cnsider how much William Shatner and Leonard Nemoy hate each other.

hrgiger
06-06-2007, 04:05 AM
Actually, now that you mention it, I'm not sure at all of their relationship. Now on the other hand, I know George Takai hates Shatner for sure.

starbase1
06-06-2007, 05:45 AM
Actually, now that you mention it, I'm not sure at all of their relationship. Now on the other hand, I know George Takai hates Shatner for sure.

Why? Has he heard Bill sing perhaps?

(For the uninitiated, Shatner 'released' an LP called "The Transformed Man", which is widely considered one of the worst ever. Makes Maragita Pracatan sound musical, and makes his acting style look like a masterpiece of restraint and ability).

tribbles
06-06-2007, 05:56 AM
And Shatner's version of Slim Shady (?) on Futurama....

kopperdrake
06-06-2007, 06:53 AM
And don't even get me started on 'Bilbo'...

Edbittner
06-06-2007, 08:48 AM
Uhm.........."Lucy in the sky with diamonds"? LOL!
E.

Animapper
06-06-2007, 02:23 PM
Forgiving the continued hijack of this thread, someone emailed me a 10 minute tirad shattner had inside a studio while doing a VO for hire. The producer had asked him to rephrase the way he had said a line and shattner slowly eroded this guy down to a peanut shell of a man. It was sad, but quite humerous to hear. If I can find it, I'll post it.

Regards,

jtoney7852
06-06-2007, 04:20 PM
ok ok.... good stuff but I really need to get an answer on this, the cheapest possible.

byte_fx
06-06-2007, 04:26 PM
There's a GG bridge in, I think, the LW 7 content folder.

AKA Classic Content in LW 8.

byte_fx

byte_fx
06-06-2007, 07:45 PM
Ah - the one from NewTek on the content cd's is free.

But you want to spend money that's your choice.

byte_fx

jtoney7852
06-06-2007, 09:40 PM
i never noticed if there was one on the cd or not. ok so with that how in the world to you get the mountains and such to add to it? Or do I just need to use a terrain generator?

byte_fx
06-06-2007, 10:46 PM
The scene is set at night but I think it does have some land mesh included.

I think the scene is in 'lighting' section of the lw7/Classic Content folder but it's been some time since I poked around there.

LW used to import DEM files - don't know if it still does. That's another area I haven't messed with recently.

You should also be able to find a dataset for Terragen then export that mesh as a .lwo file.

Kevin Phillips - aka Kev Man - has/had a free plug that helps with scaling Terragen files and camera paths to the LW universe so you can actually set up a baisc camera path in Terreagen then transfer all that to LW for rendering.

http://www.rna.hr/tutorial01/ has a tutorial on creating an hdr probe from Terragen renders so you can even use image based lighting if you want to.

The links to the tut's LW objects seem to be dead but as I recall they were just default sized spheres - 0.5 meter per XYZ.

byte_fx

byte_fx
06-06-2007, 10:52 PM
And if you want some 'quick and dirty' - well - quick anyway - buildings try Eki's City Gen.

It's shareware but runs in a time-delay nag mode until registered.

Eki has all sorts of useful stuff you might want to check out.

byte_fx

jtoney7852
06-10-2007, 08:38 PM
how do you get that citygen and how do you install it

byte_fx
06-11-2007, 02:10 AM
http://www.kolumbus.fi/erkki.halkka/modpak/CityGen01.html

Bog
06-11-2007, 05:49 AM
Crikey. $85 for that Golden Gate model? Looks a bit basic to me.

Note to self: Shovel every old object I've got up on TurboSquid, seems people will buy any old thing...

byte_fx
06-11-2007, 08:28 AM
Like I say - the one from NewTek is free.

Agree that most of the stuff at Turbosquid is overpriced.

From what I've been told a lot of cleanup is always needed - maybe because most objects are not native LightWave.

And some of the models just look to be really low res.

byte_fx

jtoney7852
06-14-2007, 11:01 PM
You know I looked for that stupid thing and all I found was the Booklyn Bridge. Anyone mind letting me know exactly where it is or upload it so I dont have to search for it. Thanks!