PDA

View Full Version : FREE Movies from Individual Frames?



DrStrik9
06-01-2007, 05:35 PM
I used Quicktime Pro ($30) on the Mac, but I'm wondering if there's anything FREE out there for PC that will put a sequence of rendered images together and make a movie out it?

I know LW will do this, but it's not exactly quick - or elegant. Anything? If not, I'll cough up the $30 for QT Pro ...

Thanks!

kmacphail
06-01-2007, 09:42 PM
Howdy,

Well, you could load the frame sequence into Lightwave and render out a quicktime through it.

Another great and free solution is ffmpeg. It's a command line tool with a huge number of options. We use it at work to build .mov files on the renderfarm for our review system.

http://ffdshow.faireal.net/mirror/ffmpeg/

Cheers,

-Kevin

RudySchneider
06-01-2007, 09:50 PM
There's also VirtualDub, a great tool: http://www.virtualdub.org/index

Wickster
06-01-2007, 11:44 PM
Howdy,

Well, you could load the frame sequence into Lightwave and render out a quicktime through it.

Another great and free solution is ffmpeg. It's a command line tool with a huge number of options. We use it at work to build .mov files on the renderfarm for our review system.

http://ffdshow.faireal.net/mirror/ffmpeg/

Cheers,

-Kevin
Hi Kevin, I've been really interested in ffmpeg as of late but I can't seem to figure out the command lines for it. Do you have any examples of some of the most useful commands for ffmpeg, you could share with us?

So far the only command i've used is the FLV to Jpeg sequence command which is

ffmpeg -i video.flv -an -r 24 -y -s 640x480 video%d.jpg

-i Input file name
-an disable audio
-r fps
-y overwrite file
-s output dimension

other than that, i don't know how to build and convert files.

kmacphail
06-02-2007, 11:35 AM
Here's an example of how we use ffmpeg to build .mov files:

/usr/bin/ffmpeg -r 24 -b 4000 -i /path/to/sequence/files.%04d.fmt -i /path/to/wav -acodec aac /path/to/output/file.mov

You may notice I don't specify a codec for the video. By default ffmpeg uses mp4 (I think), but there is a switch to specify the other codecs (which codecs depends on your build of ffmpeg).

Hope that helps,

-Kevin

Wickster
06-02-2007, 08:01 PM
Thanks Kevin. Appreciate it.