PDA

View Full Version : Puzzled With Lots of Polys

smmurph
05-31-2007, 09:42 PM
I am fairly new to Lightwave and am doing a 3D model of a new church for the Pastor so he can present it to the county when he goes to ask for building permits. Here is my problem: I am using a bunch of trees that I exported from Vue, and my schene has a total of 2,526,918 polys. The problem is that no matter where I place my camera I have the same number of polys according to the Render Status dialog. It looks like it is also rendering all the pixels in my entire scene every time I attempt a render. Is this true? If so, how do I get it to render just the ones that are in my camera view. I need multiple renders and 8-9 hours per render is just too much!

Any help making a faster render and still having decent scenes would be appreciated. I would also like to do a fly through, however I don't have 6 months to wait for a final render.

Thanks,
Smmurh

smmurph
05-31-2007, 09:53 PM
Another question ... how do I do a realistic area light without casting multiple shadows? I am trying to do fill lights to make up for dark places but I am getting shadows .. strange that lights would cast shadows, huh??

Thanks,
Smmurph

hrgiger
05-31-2007, 10:01 PM
No matter where you place your camera, your scene will always have the same amount of polygons.

Why is it strange that lights cause shadows? If you don't want your fill lights to cast shadows, simply uncheck the cast shadows box in the lights properties panel.

There's too many variables here to tell you how to get a decent faster render. You have to give more details. Which version of Lightwave are you using? Do you have Fprime? What settings do you have in your render panel as far as raytracing goes? How many lights? Which camera type? Stuff like that.

JamesCurtis
05-31-2007, 10:01 PM
LW will render all polys and pixels within the camera view unless you set up a Limited Region for rendering. Refer to the LW manual for more info on doing this.