PDA

View Full Version : Tron Electric Lines Effect?? glow effect



stav_13
05-31-2007, 09:55 AM
hi,

I have been using the "Tron Electric Lines Effect" video tutorial from Newteks website in hope of getting the glow effect on my 2 point polys. i have turned the glow effect up on the surface but no hope, does anyone know of any other step by step tutorial on how to achieve this effect, how have a preset surface that they could send me.

Thanks in advance

Stav

Bytehawk
05-31-2007, 11:01 AM
don't forget to turn on glow in the post processing tab (see screenshot)

stav_13
05-31-2007, 11:07 AM
excuse the stuipidity :stumped:

Bytehawk
05-31-2007, 12:44 PM
glad to be of help.









not with the stupidity, but with the advice :)

erikals
05-31-2007, 03:43 PM
http://erikalstad.com/Thank_You_Shift/Shift_AfterImageFilter.htm

just though it was a bit related so posted it : )

sean hargreaves
06-07-2007, 09:02 AM
Where the heck is that window? How do you get to it, please? I'm talking about the effects tab you were showing someone regarding the glow.

Bytehawk
06-07-2007, 09:07 AM
press ctrl+F8

sean hargreaves
06-07-2007, 09:17 AM
Wow, great. Thanks! Now, is the processing on that relative to a certain line, or object?
Like, say I have a cube, I want it to glow, and I turn up the luminosity in the surface window. Its bright, but is'nt 'glowing', does this effects widnow make it glow? And if so, how is it making only the cube glow, and not other things that are luminous? Because I want to make it sensitive to only certain objects or surfaces.

Bytehawk
06-07-2007, 09:40 AM
nonono

you need to increase the glow intensity on the advanced tab in the surface editor, not the luminosity

sean hargreaves
06-07-2007, 02:16 PM
But if I want the surface to be lumious, and therefore give off a glow, then thats ok, right?

Bytehawk
06-07-2007, 02:18 PM
it's not going to glow because you up the luminosity, but if you want the surface to be luminous, yeah sure.

sean hargreaves
06-07-2007, 02:25 PM
But to justify the glow, it has to come from a source. So thats why I would raise the luminosity of the surface.

sean hargreaves
06-08-2007, 11:19 AM
Hi Bytehawk,

I tried pressing ctrl+F8 but I got my volume control. I'm on a Mac, trying to get to the effects window to attack the glow effect. Is there another way?

Bytehawk
06-08-2007, 11:45 AM
see animgif

sean hargreaves
06-08-2007, 12:35 PM
Wow! Thats great. Thanks! But how do I assign the glow to a particular surface?

walfridson
06-08-2007, 01:31 PM
Surface editor, advanced tab for selected surface

sean hargreaves
06-08-2007, 02:44 PM
Holy Swedish Batmen, Batman, it worked. Thanks!