PDA

View Full Version : Sub-surface scattering



jmkupka
05-31-2007, 08:24 AM
HEY!

Not much out there yet about nodes, learning trial by fire.

Trying to apply Sigma for SSS. It works when my object (piece of hard candy) is alone in layout. When I put it in the scene with its package, it goes all dark.

The Sigma node itself is bright & shows the SSS when I crank up the specularity (when the candy is alone)

The node goes dark (& so does the object) when it's in the final scene.

I'm throwing tons of lights on it... what could be effecting this node?

Understand if you couldn't even begin to guess... just throwing it out there.

Twisted_Pixel
05-31-2007, 08:29 AM
I haven't even looked at nodes yet, so can't help.
Posting screen shots of the problem, may help others figure it out though.

alifx
05-31-2007, 08:43 AM
try to lower the value of Translucency...
I don't know actually but if you can post a screenshot or the files.

anyway why you don't use Simple Skin node?!
it's easier to do SSS material with it

jmkupka
05-31-2007, 08:58 AM
Thanks for the feedback... here are the screenshots.

darkChief
05-31-2007, 09:15 AM
From what I know, you'll need the perspective camera and double sided turned on for sigma and simple skin.

Mark The Great
05-31-2007, 09:58 AM
I know this is probably kind of a dumb question, but you HAVE plugged in the node, havenít you? It doesnít seem so in the screenshot..

alifx
05-31-2007, 10:17 AM
maybe it's your lighting setup is different in the final scene..
try to put a light near that object and see if it's effecting it.

if this didn't effect
try to change the distances in the node settings

Iain
05-31-2007, 10:28 AM
The nodes aren't plugged in.
Oops - that's what Mark The Great said!

jmkupka
05-31-2007, 10:53 AM
oh yeah, plugged in, turned on... I'm just missing something very basic here.

alifx
05-31-2007, 10:58 AM
Omg!!

^_^

Mark The Great
05-31-2007, 11:55 AM
Now that you've plugged it in, I hope you show us the result!

jmkupka
05-31-2007, 12:58 PM
no no no, sorry, I meant I've done that, and no change results...

Mark The Great
05-31-2007, 01:02 PM
Ohh... I could give you a screenshot of a working sigma node setup if that would help.

jmkupka
05-31-2007, 01:20 PM
I'd love to see one, thanks very much.

I'm sure the results are also dependant on lighting setup as well as background options... nothing I change gives me anything but a black preview in the node (and a black result after rendering).

Mark The Great
06-01-2007, 01:28 PM
Here you go.

It's lit by a luminous poly/final gather sort of setup, so you won't see anything much in the openGL window.

Mark The Great
06-01-2007, 01:59 PM
Oh, and yes, I did attempt to copy the wonderful setup someone made for the Lightwiki.