PDA

View Full Version : Interesting Lightwave Review

adamredwoods
05-25-2007, 05:35 PM
Regarding a complete beginner:

http://www.guygraphics.com/GGREVIEWS-192004.html

Is there a manual for beginners that's included with LW9? I don't know since I bought 8 w/o the manual.

cc3d
05-25-2007, 05:59 PM
Why is it that people still think the only talent involved in this type of work is the ability to buy software? "I've bought the software, now where is the 'Titanic hitting iceberg and sinking' plugin so I can start my epic movie?"

sheez!

Sarford
05-25-2007, 06:34 PM
I don't think it's a very bad review, for someone who knows nothing of 3D this is a good start I think, but I also think its the review is a bit shalow, you can't actualy call it a review realy.

@adamredwoods: There are manuals for LW9 but I wouldn't call them beginner manuals. They are reference manuals, that means they describe every menu, plug-in, shader etc. but they don't have tutorials.
If you wanna have a 'beginner manual' take a look at Dan Ablan's Inside Lightwave 9. That is a very good beginner book. By the time you've finished the book, you won't be a beginner no more :)

hrgiger
05-25-2007, 09:30 PM
That review is awful. It's not a review for beginners, because beginners should at least skim the manual before they open up the program and try to figure things out on their own in a couple of hours. If you're just poking around, that's fine, but when you start blaming the software because you couldn't figure it out on your own, well, that's just asinine.
It should be called, review of Lightwave 9 for those of you who don't like to read anything (except for this tutorial).

IMI
05-26-2007, 09:43 PM
LightWave does not put its menus or buttons in easy to find places.

Sheesh! Good thing he didn't buy maya. :D
Yeah, that "review" pretty much sucks, IMO. Consider this: I’ve never used LightWave before today, and am writing this review from that stand point.