PDA

View Full Version : Overlaying a transparent skin problems!



Grale
05-24-2007, 11:52 AM
Ok, wasn't sure how to title the thread !

I am having a problem with a conflict between my objects, see pic below.
i want to overlay the solid object as a transparent skin onto the planes frame, but as you can see the image on the left shows the framework through the skin.
Now i thought the problem was that the skin should be slightly bigger than the frame, so i increased the scale on the skin, after this LW it didn't clash anymore, but when i entered the model into my simulator, the clashes were still there just the same!! i don't want to increase the outer skin anymore really as i think there will be visible gap between the frame and skin..

Anybody know where i am going wrong :help:

Thanks
http://img105.imageshack.us/img105/7946/examplelb3.jpg

Bytehawk
05-24-2007, 01:06 PM
do they render like that as well ?

Grale
05-24-2007, 01:28 PM
No, it renders like this:

http://img260.imageshack.us/img260/2505/untitled2oj2.jpg

this is before i resized the skin to be larger than the framework, which renders it correctly i think!

Bytehawk
05-24-2007, 02:28 PM
looks correct to me.

I've seen this before on thin geometry close to another polygon. It's an opengl floating point limitation I guess.

Grale
06-03-2007, 05:23 AM
I'm still unable to find a solution to this problem!

When i render, it's perfect but when viewing my model in LW, it shows the glitches, and it's exactly the same when i import the model into my game.

here's a render, how i want it:
http://aycu32.webshots.com/image/17551/2006151899590454433_rs.jpg

If anybody has any ideas of how i might correct this, please let me know.
this is stopping me from finishing my model :thumbsdow

Thanks

Edit: here's how it looks in game and in LW

Grale
06-03-2007, 05:30 AM
http://aycu11.webshots.com/image/18450/2001143208378673093_rs.jpg

jameswillmott
06-03-2007, 05:46 AM
Point normal move by just a fraction will push the skin outside the line of the frame. Should solve the problem.

Extent
06-03-2007, 05:58 AM
Yup, if you need the model to display properly in OpenGL then you're just going to have to keep moving the skin away from the model till it looks right.

If you're going to do renders as well you could keep a copy of the model with the skin really close, and just keep the scaled up one for your game engine.

Grale
06-03-2007, 06:30 AM
Ahh right, i will try and increase the scale.

Is there a way or plugin that will allow me scale the skin without manualy editing the points.

the built in scale and size seem to work but don't keep the skin centered.

Thanks for your help

jameswillmott
06-03-2007, 07:02 AM
Use Point Normal Move, or Move Plus and use the RightMouseButton...