PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave the best modeler available?

Twisted Designs
05-23-2007, 04:31 PM
As you see from my name I work in the graphic design industry. While my work hasn't always been in the 3d modeling it is now turning solely to that because of a new opportunity. For the last couple days my posts here have been trying to figure this program out and have gotten some awesome help. But in my search for good tutorials and detailed program explanation, I have discovered a few other programs that seem to be highly praised. So i pose this question:

Of the 5 following listed programs, which one is the best for 3d modeling taking into consideration the following details; User Interface learn ability, modeling potential, detail, scene setup, render times.

Lightwave
Maya
ZBrush
Cinema 4d
3d Studio Max

Take into consideration that budget is not an issue so please be honest.

zapper1998
05-23-2007, 04:44 PM
get dan's books, Inside Lightwave 9, 8, 7, 6, great investments..

awesome tips on everything....

hrgiger
05-23-2007, 04:52 PM
Well, out of the ones you listed, I would have to go with Lightwave. Zbrush would be the best one, but it's not strictly a polygonal modeler. However, it is the best at what is does which is displacing millions of polygons into rich, high detailed meshes. It can be used in conjunction with other 3D programs.

JeffrySG
05-23-2007, 05:06 PM
Every app. will have its strengths and weaknesses... and some will do many things equally as well. The real question is "What are you going to be modeling?" Without that, it's hard to answer your question. Also, it might be possible that all of the apps will do what you need and it may come down to how YOU like each of them. So you could download the demos and try for yourself. Different people like different apps.

Some forums would consider this a loaded question and others (like CGTalk) don't even allow questions like this in their TOS. Just fyi....