PDA

View Full Version : Skelegons In A Separate Layer Don't Work Anymore?



Giacomo99
05-23-2007, 09:19 AM
Hello-

Is it still possible in 9.2 to deform an object using Skelegons from a separate layer than the deformed object? As far as I can tell, skelegons in 9.2 will ONLY deform geometry that's on the same layer.

Please advise.

brian.coates
05-23-2007, 10:11 AM
Just tried it out and yes, it does still work. :thumbsup:

Just select the object layer you want to deform, activate Bone Edit mode (shift-B) then press 'p' for properties. When the dialogue window pops up, select the layer that contains the bones from the pull-down menu at the top.

This was the standard procedure pre-9.2, right?

It's been a while since I used it.

Dodgy
05-23-2007, 11:08 AM
Seems to work for me... Obviously using 'Use bones from' in the bones panel...

Giacomo99
05-23-2007, 03:12 PM
I tried it again and it seems to be working--sort of. The bone tools in 9.2 are behaving very erratically for me. Sometimes a bone won't affect the model at all, sometimes a bone won't recognize a weight map.

I'd offer more information, except that there seems to be no rhyme or reason to it at all.