PDA

View Full Version : Custom node tree for zbrush ?



SaturnX
05-23-2007, 07:20 AM
Hi guys, where is the custom node tree for zbrush inside layout?
I cant seem to find it under object properties/displacment/nodes/edit/import nodes.

A website i was reading stated that lw9 ships with this zbrush node tree.

"... Fortunately we don’t have to construct a complicated node setup to use our ZBrush displacement map. LightWave 9 ships with a custom node tree specifically designed for use with ZBrush. We’ll simply load this node tree and make a few small changes."

http://www.zbrush.info/site/index.php/ZBrush_to_Lightwave#Adding_the_displacement_in_Lig htWave_9.0

Bytehawk
05-23-2007, 07:31 AM
There's a dedicated normal map node.

As for displacement:

Add an image node with the displacement texture in it, then pump the luma into a Math>vector>scale node's scale input.
Then add a Spot>Spotinfo and pump the Normal into the scale node's vector input.
Finally, pump the scale node's result into the displacement input.

if you search for zbrush and node on this forum you'll find a lot more answers

SaturnX
05-23-2007, 08:43 AM
Ive tried a few things so far... but lightwave keeps crashing
I Imported the node settings from the ZB displacement scene... (thanks bytehawk and neverko)
Ive tweaked them... Started trying new things... with the nodes...
But as soon as i pump up the render subpatch levels... and hit the render key... 'everytime' i might add...
... lw is crashing. Ive so had enough of lightwave crashing lately.


Im not happy.


I shall keep trying.

By the way, its a full character, with a 4096 displacment map.
Ive also tried a 2048 displacment map, but layout still crashes when i render.