PDA

View Full Version : Where did AUTOSIZEIMAGE go in 9.2 modeler Backdrop image?



HanJobSoSlow
05-19-2007, 05:24 PM
Where did AUTOSIZE go in 9.2 modeler Backdrop image?

Is there another way of doign this or am I blind- the buttons missing in my 9.2

but is there large as day in 9.0

Cant be right?

Snosrap
05-19-2007, 11:01 PM
Yeah I was wondering the same thing. Submit it as a bug.

Snosrap

Bytehawk
05-20-2007, 05:30 AM
huh? it's still there.....

HanJobSoSlow
05-20-2007, 07:06 AM
Hmmm

someone else has the problem so at least I know im not blind or mad. :D

Unless Snosrap is both.

Auger
05-20-2007, 08:00 AM
Just noticed this myself... I definitely had the button but now it's gone. Doesn't seem to wanna come back either.

Jon

Bytehawk
05-20-2007, 08:14 AM
is this what you are looking for ?

Auger
05-20-2007, 08:35 AM
is this what you are looking for ?

Yes!

Bytehawk
05-20-2007, 08:44 AM
weird, that is a snapshot of 9.2. Must be something specific to your situation for it to dissapear....

Auger
05-20-2007, 08:54 AM
I had it a day ago but now it's gone. Strange, eh?

dee
05-20-2007, 09:15 AM
it's buggy. try following:

1. start modeler
2. make a box
3. press "d" and go to the backdrop tab - automatic size is visible

4. close display options and delete geometry
5. press "d" and go to the backdrop tab - automatic size is not visible

6. close display options and make a box
7. press "d" and go to the backdrop tab - automatic size is still not visible

HanJobSoSlow, have you fogged it?

Auger
05-20-2007, 09:31 AM
it's buggy. try following:

1. start modeler
2. make a box
3. press "d" and go to the backdrop tab - automatic size is visible

4. close display options and delete geometry
5. press "d" and go to the backdrop tab - automatic size is not visible

6. close display options and make a box
7. press "d" and go to the backdrop tab - automatic size is still not visible

HanJobSoSlow, have you fogged it?

You nailed it Dee!

MooseDog
05-20-2007, 09:31 AM
followed dee's steps: confirmed.

HanJobSoSlow
05-20-2007, 10:45 AM
it's buggy. try following:

HanJobSoSlow, have you fogged it?

Fogged? is that a German word?:D

Your correct if thats what your meaning?

To sound more dumb than normal for a moment where is it you post the BUGs - I had thought this was where they were to go.

Bytehawk
05-20-2007, 11:05 AM
fogging is beta slang for mailing [email protected]

Sensei
05-20-2007, 03:58 PM
This option does not make sense when there is no geometry in layer, so it should be ghosted/disappeared..

HanJobSoSlow
05-20-2007, 04:11 PM
correct that is how it should work.

however its not able to tell when geometry is in the layer.

I just tried again to check I wasnt going mad and - yes geometry in the layer- and no the button doesnt appear.

:help: us :newtek:ewtek

dee
05-21-2007, 04:22 AM
Fogged? is that a German word?:D

lol :) sorry, I thought I was in the beta section. I'll make a bug report about this.

JamesCurtis
05-23-2007, 03:50 PM
Yeah, I noticed a flakiness with this as well. Seemed to work one time when I would launch Modeler through Layout, next time I brought it up - no button!!!

It's a funny thing, ya know! Computers and programs are logical by design, you'd think that either something would work right or not work at all and not sometimes!!

Sensei
05-23-2007, 03:58 PM
It works this way:
- run Modeler, press 'd' when there is no geometry loaded/created - there is no button.
- run Modeler, make or load geometry, button is there.
It's the same as with LW v9.0, but I noticed that LW v9.2 remain unchanged (no button appears after making geometry and using 'd' again).

Between LW v9.0 and LW v9.2 display settings window has changed dramatically from modal to non-modal. Modal windows are built right before showing. Apparently NewTek developer buffered this window, and first creation remain in memory in hidden state, and then second 'd' just show it, without recreating the all controls.

I am good beta-tester.. ;)

Deep Purple
05-24-2007, 08:58 AM
Ok, I changed the way it works a bit:

1. The "Autosize" button is always visible.
1. It is only active when a backdrop image is selected.
3. When a backdrop image is selected but no geometry in the foreground layer
it will warn the user that this is a precondition for automatic sizing
(when the user presses the button).

Should be pretty self-documenting this way,
what do you think?

- DavidF

Bytehawk
05-24-2007, 09:04 AM
or you could autosize to 500 mm if there is no geometry,
if you press a, the view also defaults to 500 mm

dee
05-24-2007, 09:14 AM
Ok, I changed the way it works a bit:

1. The "Autosize" button is always visible.
1. It is only active when a backdrop image is selected.
3. When a backdrop image is selected but no geometry in the foreground layer
it will warn the user that this is a precondition for automatic sizing
(when the user presses the button).

Should be pretty self-documenting this way,
what do you think?

- DavidF

it's ok for me. make it so! :hey:

HanJobSoSlow
05-24-2007, 09:55 AM
fantastic

Deep Purple
05-24-2007, 01:53 PM
or you could autosize to 500 mm if there is no geometry,
if you press a, the view also defaults to 500 mm

Ok, I changed it to 1m default size,
removing the annoying ok button box.
Ok boxes are a thing of the past anyways,
so the Google Techtalks say ;-)

- DavidF

Bytehawk
05-24-2007, 02:06 PM
super-duper-tastic :)

HanJobSoSlow
05-24-2007, 04:18 PM
GREAT - Now DEEP PURPLE all you need do now is spill the beans when we will be seeing an update. :D

Bytehawk
05-24-2007, 04:32 PM
you don't need Deep Purple for that. You need access to the Beta Forum....

My glass ball tells me something is hanging up there, ready to get down on us tonight. (might be rain though)

HanJobSoSlow
05-24-2007, 05:05 PM
after you register does the forum appear here or is there a specific url?

Bytehawk
05-24-2007, 05:30 PM
http://register.newtek.com/Default.aspx
agree to the nda
download the good stuff
don't talk about the good stuff here
wait for a while while you get added to the openbeta list
talk about them there (forum section appears at the bottom of the main forum list here)

HanJobSoSlow
05-24-2007, 06:13 PM
:thumbsup: :thumbsup: