PDA

View Full Version : What Have You Done to Become More Efficient?

B_Free
05-15-2007, 04:47 PM
Hi Everyone!

I'm slowly trying to get better and faster at LightWave, but I'm curious to know what you've done that's helped you become more efficient?

So far my answer would be "keyboard shortcuts"... but I'm just getting started.

What thoughts or advice do you have? :)

IMI
05-15-2007, 04:59 PM
Probably this is fairly obvious, but for me the most important part of efficiency is deciding on a system of naming for ones files, from the objects to the textures and scenes, to the renders, and a keeping it all consistent.
There's nothing *less* efficient than trying to find the texture you made for your object the night before and searching through 12 gigs of psd, .tga, and .tiff files before you remember 2 hours later that the image that was just right for your object was on your Z Drive in your CoolPhotoshop folder with the name Greatmetaltex_44.a.2.tif. ;)

bluerider
05-15-2007, 05:02 PM
Actually thats great advice, file arrangement.

BeeVees lectured me so often because of my awfull fill management that its begining to sink in.

Set up a sensible heirarchy for your project files. :)

Bytehawk
05-15-2007, 05:34 PM
you are lucky to have BeeVee lecture you ! never forget that...
:)

jameswillmott
05-15-2007, 05:43 PM
Definately a good file and naming structure is number one.

Second for me, sensible and personal menu setups, for example, all my Select type operations are stored on the right mouse context menu in Modeler, so it's very quick to select elements without having to go to the sidebar or set up hundreds of keyboard shortcuts.

Third, set up libraries of reusable items like surfaces, models (furniture, nuts/bolts, generic vehicles etc), multishift profiles and scenes.

IMI
05-15-2007, 06:04 PM