PDA

View Full Version : C4 / SG_Explosion2??



Bangalow
05-12-2007, 10:05 PM
The website where these plugins reside doesn't seem to be active. Does anyone know any alternative places that C4 and SG_Explosion2 can be downloaded from?

I have CrackIt but cannot do much more (seemingly) without these plugins, or am I mistaken here? I want to explode the shattered cube that CrackIt has produced. Exporting into Realflow and smashing it with a ball doesn't work.

Thanks for any help anyone can give. BTW I am using LW 8.5.

Steve

SplineGod
05-12-2007, 10:42 PM
What about using hardfx with the cut up geometry?

Bangalow
05-12-2007, 11:58 PM
Thanks for the idea. Where can I get a hold of HardFX? Couldn't find this in the LW manual (or am I not looking hard enough).

G M D THREE
05-13-2007, 12:11 AM
What about using hardfx with the cut up geometry?

Yea Fujio Ichikawa is a genius for writing the CrackIt script.
Hardfx and objects split with CrackIt is the SH*T. Some of my favorite combo in LW.

And you need to know I love blowing up stuff in LW, its almost like a fetish.

Here is a the opening titles of a indie feature that was done all with the CrackIt script and LW hardfx.
Please note that this is exclusively for people using this forum and should not be posted or distributed elsewhere. I will deactivate the link after few days!
UA opening titles (http://www.gmdthree.com/ua/Urban_Assault_V5_h264.mov)

You will need Quicktime 7+

Enjoy. ///

G M D THREE
05-13-2007, 12:16 AM
Thanks for the idea. Where can I get a hold of HardFX? Couldn't find this in the LW manual (or am I not looking hard enough).

Dude, HardFX is been in there since LW 8. Select your object in layout, hit p for object properties, lats tab where is says Dynamic, from pull down menu choose HardFX.

That wasn't hard was it ;)

///

Bangalow
05-13-2007, 12:17 AM
Thanks for replying G M D Three.

I have never used HardFX but have Realflow. Having downloaded a HardFX lws with C4 prepared block I was surprised to see the block looks just like a CrackIt block when viewed in Modeller. It should be possible to somehow export this CrackIt block and get it into Realflow but the parts are all still stuck together.

As it isn't so much an animation I am after but a final still render (with bits smashed out everywhere), I will try fathoming HardFX but also try and save out the bits together so they can smash apart in Realflow.

Steve.

Bangalow
05-13-2007, 12:18 AM
HI G M D Three,

Just did a cross post - will try your second post suggestions.

Thank you,

Steve

shaun_michael
05-14-2007, 12:41 AM
It should be possible to somehow export this CrackIt block and get it into Realflow but the parts are all still stuck together.

As it isn't so much an animation I am after but a final still render (with bits smashed out everywhere), I will try fathoming HardFX but also try and save out the bits together so they can smash apart in Realflow.

Steve.

If you want to do the RBD sim in Realflow you need to save each piece either as a seperate object and load those into RF, or if each piece resides in a different layer, you need to take that object to layout, then export an sd file so that RF will see each layer as a single object.

Shaun

Bangalow
05-17-2007, 12:43 AM
Shaun_Michael - thanks for your advice. This solves a few problems I was having. Appreciate the help.

G M D Three - yeah. Too easy. Having gone to Flay.com to get plugins, I was looking for HardFX and not Hard Dynamics in the manual. I have it all working nicely now and have used Crack It and sd files for Realflow to get some interesting rigid body stuff happening before sending it all back to Lightwave.

Thanks again,

Steve.

toonafish
05-17-2007, 02:22 AM
the C4 website and download links works fine from here.

http://www2.informatik.hu-berlin.de/~goetsch/C4/
http://www.dgnewmedia.de/downloads/c4_75b.zip

Bangalow
05-19-2007, 01:32 AM
Wow. Thanks Toonafish. The link wasn't working last weekend. I'm really glad I checked back. Thank you for the help.

Steve

duke
06-03-2007, 07:30 PM
I'm just going to chime in here that crackit pack is horribly unstable with 8.5+. I can't even get it to work with a simple box in 9.2 :(

Silkrooster
06-03-2007, 07:43 PM
I thought someone said that c4 was updated for 9+. I am thinking it was Dodgy but not sure.
Silk

duke
06-03-2007, 08:16 PM
http://www2.informatik.hu-berlin.de/~goetsch/C4/

That's the website, I thought it hadn't been updated in a while. The explosion part (layout) works great but the modeller component is busted.

Silkrooster
06-03-2007, 09:28 PM
I did a quick search maybe this is the thread.
http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63501
Silk