PDA

View Full Version : Math Skills

eagleeyed
05-10-2007, 10:27 AM
Hello, I have had something bothering me for the last couple of days and finally decided to ask someone about it, who better that people in the industry.

For the people who do me here I am a relative newbie learning more about animation each day. I am yet to run into math in Lightwave.

What I have been seeing on the web is that to be a truly great CG artist you need to have great math skills. This is nowhere near the case for me. I am perfectly fine with the x, y and z axis, know my 1, 2, 3's etc but am nowhere near a Math Wiz, suck at Algebra and have trouble with Trig etc though I know it.

Are there any programs that are math intensive, I know quite a few of the sites that mention this use Maya as their program.

If it is Maya what type of Math does it use and to what extent, I know a few people here will suggest againest using Maya and stick with LW, I am going to do that but I want to learn Maya and need to know if there will be problems ahead.

Thanks for your help in advance.

toby
05-10-2007, 12:31 PM
For the people who do me here...
Pardon??? :D

Nope! No math neccessary! Programming isn't even neccessary, although very useful. The only time I've run into artists using math was for particle effects in Houdini, for things like the movie Day After Tomorrow and the Halo3 trailer. Modeling, texturing, lighting and animating require no math.

hrgiger
05-10-2007, 12:37 PM
I remember thinking this way when I first started with 3D. But no real math knowledge is required unless, as Toby said, you plan to get into programming, and even then, there are a lot of things you can do with programming where an extensive knowledge of math wouldn't be necessary.

Just don't think you're going to write a fluid simulator or anything without being a real Math Gilbert.

MiniFireDragon
05-10-2007, 12:49 PM